Excerpt from House of the Deaf by Lamar Herrin, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

House of the Deaf

by Lamar Herrin

House of the Deaf
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Nov 2005, 240 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2006, 270 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"Sorolla," the woman beside him confided. She’d caught him off guard. He stiffened, and she added, in a measured, marveling voice, "Has anyone ever painted the Mediterranean like that?"

He turned to her and they exchanged a look.

"If you’ll tell me your son or daughter’s name, I’ll do my best to help you."

He paused. He had a name to give, a name to give up, and in that single lucid interval he knew he should keep the name and take it home with him. He had a home. He had a daughter in college, with no desire to go abroad, who loved him.

"Michelle Williamson," he said, adding before the name could register, "you might not remember, she was only here for a month before she was killed, and that’s been almost three years now."

Stunned, Madeline Pratt sat down behind her desk. "Of course I remember," she half-whispered.

"When she was little we called her Mick, sometimes Mickey Mouse," he went on, giving it all up, with a flat grudging vehemence in his voice he couldn’t control, "but she probably hadn’t been here long enough to get to the nickname stage."

Madeline Pratt lowered her eyes to her desk and shook her head. There was a single framed picture on her desk that he could only see the back of. He checked the urge to reach out and turn the picture toward him, but promised himself he would see it before he left this office. It was, he understood, a way of moving ahead, making these small daring promises to himself. He added, "But come to think of it, she would never tell you that nickname. We teased her with it, and she didn’t like to be teased."

Madeline Pratt raised her head and said, "I’m terribly sorry, Mr. Williamson. I don’t know what to say to you."

Her eyes were moist. They were large in their sockets, the hollows beneath them were washed out. She looked utterly unresourceful. What was a woman like this doing running a program responsible for the safety of fifty students a year?

"That’s okay," he said. "I’m sure you said it all to her mother when she came to bring the body back. I stayed home. I had no desire to come to Spain. Spain didn’t interest me in the least."

"Yes, I remember your wife well. I was astonished at how well she bore up."

"My ex-wife," he corrected her. "Not many marriages will last after a thing like that."

"No," she allowed, but only to do him the courtesy.

He didn’t want the courtesy. His ex-wife, Gail, would never do that, but he didn’t want his ex-wife either. She sold real estate now and was enormously successful because she had a talent for disarming you with her honesty. It was a talent she’d developed, a strategy: here’s what’s going to drive you crazy about this house, but here’s where the balance tilts slightly in your favor. She’d kept a balance sheet on her marriage in a similar way until the balance tilted against him, against it.

He’d once loved her, her beauty and the freshness of her outlook, her mind, her very being, until that freshness had hardened into something brusque and hurtful. That was before their daughter had been killed. Gail had put on weight too, and in the name of that hardened freshness, she knew how to throw her weight around. After the divorce she’d told their daughter that her father was a fool. No one could be such a romantic sap about a woman looking the way she looked now. No one she’d want to be married to. She’d gotten a divorce, and had actually told their daughter that. Annie. Their surviving daughter.

Then he told Madeline Pratt what he did want. It brought a flinch to her face and a start to her eyes. "I want you to take me where it happened," he said. "I understand it’s not far from here. I want to stand there," he was more emphatic now, speaking from the unsounded depth of his desire, "where they killed her."

From House of the Deaf by Lamar Herrin, the complete text of chapter 1, pages 1-15. Copyright 2005 Lamar Herrin. All rights reserved.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.