Excerpt from All In My Head by Paula Kamen, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

All In My Head

An Epic Quest to Cure an Unrelenting, Totally Unreasonable, and Only Slightly Enlightening Headache

by Paula Kamen

All In My Head
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2005, 351 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2006, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt

Younger women feel less shame in "coming out" about a whole range of medical problems. Starting out life with a higher status in society than our mothers, and not feeling as obligated to "prove ourselves" as equals to men, we are more willing to discuss "weaknesses." For a generation that has come of age with women speaking out about sexual abuse and assault, sexual preference, and (previously stigmatized) breast cancer, speaking out about chronic pain seems only natural.

Politically speaking, we are also more secure than past generations to discuss these issues because of less of a risk of damaging the women's movement. In the 1970s, the women's health movement mainly focused on women's physical strengths, at a time when they had to prove them as "equals" to men, such as with promoting women's sports and stressing the "truth" of the women's bodies (when doctors were treating natural experiences like menopause and childbirth as "diseases" needing heavy medication and dangerous procedures).

In the past several years, we have seen this beginning trickle of women "coming out" about stigmatized invisible health issues of all kinds:

    • Jane Pauley discussing her bipolar disorder in a new book.
    • Susanna Kaysen (author of Girl, Interrupted) talking about vaginal pain in the memoir, The Camera My Mother Gave Me.
    • Celebrities such as Cybill Shepherd talking about irritable bowel syndrome.
    • Memoirists on depression, such as Elizabeth Wurtzel's Prozac Nation.
    • Laura Hillenbrand, bestsellling author of Seabiscuit, coming out in a New Yorker essay with chronic fatigue syndrome, only officially classified as a disease since 1988.

A New Activist Movement (Depression's Stepchild) (chapter 22)
Reflecting a general social movement to begin to address such problems, Congress has declared 2000-2010 "The Decade of Pain Control and Awareness." This enhanced social focus on chronic pain follows a general period of growing awareness on a related issue: depression. Like with depression in the 1990s, campaigns are now beginning to take hold that portray the problem as a neurological illness, and not as a moral failing or metaphor for a psychological conflict.

The source list at the end of the book includes a growing number of pain-advocacy groups. Some of the leading ones are the American Chronic Pain Foundation (theacpa.org) and the American Pain Foundation (painfoundation.org).

From the preface to All In My Head, pages ix - xvi. Copyright Paula Kamen 2005. All rights reserved. No part of this book maybe reproduced without written permission from the publisher, Da Capo Press.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.