Excerpt from Dragon Rider by Cornelia Funke, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Dragon Rider

by Cornelia Funke

Dragon Rider
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2004, 528 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2005, 528 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


Sorrel gave the girl and the woman a dark look. But when Guinevere held out her hand, saying, "Hi! I can’t say how pleased I am to meet you!" even the brownie’s furry face softened in a smile.

And while Firedrake carried the three of them to the hill beyond the huts where the tomb of the dragon rider stood, Ben followed on foot with Barnabas Greenbloom and Twigleg.&

"As you see," said the professor as Firedrake’s tail dragged through the sand in front of them, "Guinevere loves riding anything—elephants and camels, too. Personally I’m happy if I can stay on a donkey’s back for five minutes. Oh, by the way," he added, putting his arm around Ben’s shoulders, "my wife is waiting for us at the tomb, where I hope you’ll tell us what’s happened to you all since we last met.Vita is particularly looking forward to meeting you and Sorrel, and she will be delighted to see Twigleg, too. She knows some other brownies, but she’s been wanting to meet a homunculus for ages."

"Hear that, Twigleg?" Ben asked, turning his head to the manikin on his shoulder.

But the homunculus was lost in thought. In his mind’s eye, he could still see the happy faces of the villagers as Firedrake approached their huts. Twice in the past he and his master had entered a village of humans, but Nettlebrand certainly hadn’t made any of them feel happy. Fear was all his master ever brought, and he relished doing it.

"Is something wrong, Twigleg?" asked Ben.

"No, no, nothing, young master," replied the homunculus, mopping his forehead.

The professor put his arm around Ben’s shoulders again. "I’m so eager to hear your news I can hardly wait! But tell me one thing first." He glanced up at the sky; there was still no sign of any ravens. Even so, he lowered his voice. "Did the djinn know the answer? Did you manage to ask the right question?"

Ben grinned. "Yes, but his answer was rather mysterious, like a riddle."

"Like a riddle, eh? Typical of a djinn, but—" The professor shook his head. "No, no, tell me what he said later, when Vita’s with us. She ought to hear it, too. If it weren’t for her I’d never have ventured to board the wretched plane that brought us here. And besides, ever since this business about a spy came up I’ve been feeling very cautious."

Twigleg couldn’t help flinching when he heard the word spy.

"My dear Twigleg," said the professor, "you really don’t look at all well. Perhaps flying doesn’t agree with you, either?"

"I don’t think he looks too good," agreed Ben, examining Twigleg with concern.

"N-no, really," stammered the manikin. "Honestly I’m fine. I just don’t like this heat. I’m not used to it." He mopped the sweat from his brow. "I was meant to live in the cold. In the cold and the dark."

Ben looked at him in surprise."Why, I thought you came from Egypt! At least, that’s where we first met you."

Twigleg glanced at him, alarmed. "Egypt? I . . . er . . . yes, right, but . . ."

Barnabas Greenbloom spared the homunculus the problem of finding a plausible answer. "Sorry to interrupt," he said, pointing ahead, "but we’ve nearly reached the tomb. It’s up there. And there’s Vita!" He waved—and then suddenly let his hand drop, horrified. "Oh, good heavens! Do you see that, my boy?"

"Yes," replied Ben, frowning. "Two fat ravens waiting for us."


28. The Tomb of the Dragon Rider

From Dragon Rider by Cornelia Funke, Chapters 27 & 28, pages 275-295.  Original copyright 2000 by Dressler Verlag.  Original English translation copyright 2001 by Oliver Georg Latsch.  First published in Germany as Drachenreiter by Cecile Dressler Verlag, 1997.  This translation by Anthea Bell copyright 2004 by The Chicken House.  Reproduced by permission of the publisher, The Chicken House.  Published in the USA by Scholastic by arrangement with The Chicken House.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.