Excerpt from Bucking The Sarge by Christopher Paul Curtis, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Bucking The Sarge

by Christopher Paul Curtis

Bucking The Sarge by Christopher Paul Curtis X
Bucking The Sarge by Christopher Paul Curtis
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2004, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2006, 144 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt

"Just a minute, fellas. Hello?"

"Luther?" It was Sparky. He sounded like he'd just run five miles. "Have you looked outside, bruh?" I could hear the wind howling behind him.

"Yeah, where you at?"

"I'm on the phone outside Seven-Eleven. It's like a hurricane out here!"

"Then why don't you get inside? Are you coming over?" The 7-Eleven was only a couple of blocks away.

Sparky said, "Uh-uh. I need you to meet me behind Taco Bell."

"You need what?"

"Seriously! This is my big chance, baby! Before this night is over I'm going to be calling 1-800-SUE-EM-ALL. I finally got someone to sic the big D.O.G. on." He started barking into the phone.

Sparky, what are you talking about?"

"I'ma put me a suit in on Taco Bell!"

"Oh, you're gonna do that old I-found-a-rat-in-my-burrito trick?"

Sparky said, "Please, they peeped out that scam a long time ago, they even do autopsies on the rat if you claim that happened. I got the bomb, baby! But I'm gonna need your help."

"Uh-oh."

"Uh-uh, Luther, this is for real. I walked by Taco Bell and all them red tiles are lifting up off the roof and knocking the mess out of everything in the parking lot! One went clean through someone's windshield!"

"Sounds dangerous."

"Which is why you gotta get down here."

I said, "Why would I come out on a night like this to watch some roofing tiles crashing into cars . . ." Then I understood. "Now I get it, you want a witness that you got hit by one of those tiles, right?"

"Something like that, but I need a little more."

"I'm listening."

"I really do need to get hit, and you're the only one I can trust to do it right."

"Aw, no. That ain't happening!"

"Come on, Luther, I already got one of the tiles set to do it. All you gotta do is kinda tap me in the head, then walk me into Taco Bell and have them call an ambulance."

"What?"

"Don't worry, bruh, you know when I get paid I'ma break a little something off for you."

"You must be kidding."

"Luther, don't make me beg."

"I can't do it, Sparky. Besides, you're cutting into my science fair project time. Plus I gotta put the Crew to bed, that's going to take at least half an hour."

Sparky said, "If that's the best you can do, half an hour then, behind the Taco Bell."

"Cool."

He said, "I just hope the wind hasn't died down by then, it'll be on you if it has. Your half hour could be costing us a whole lotta benjamins, my brother."

"I'll see you in half an hour, but this better be quick, I'ma just whack you in the head, then I gotta bounce."

Sparky didn't have to worry, by the time I'd settled everyone down and started walking to Taco Bell the wind had even picked up some.

The stop sign on the corner was twisting back and forth in the wind, sounding like a rocket made out of tin cans and duct tape getting ready to blast off. The wind was hot in a way that made you want to close your eyes and tilt your head back and breathe real deep. Or maybe even howl.

Something from the roof of Taco Bell somersaulted through the air, then smashed into the parking lot. Sparky popped out from behind a Dumpster and ran toward me with a tile in his hand.

"Sparky," I yelled, "this is insane, man, let's just go home."

Sparky shook his head and said, "Come on, bruh, hurry up, this ain't real easy for me, you know."

I took the reddish-brown clay roofing tile from him. I was surprised how heavy it was. He leaned toward me, closed his eyes tight and showed his teeth.

"Come on, Luther, quit torturing me," he whined, keeping his teeth clenched. "Do it!"

  • 1
  • 2

Excerpted from Bucking the Sarge by Christopher Paul Curtis Copyright© 2004 by Christopher Paul Curtis. Excerpted by permission of Wendy Lamb Books, a division of Random House, Inc. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...

  • Book Jacket: The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    A loyal animal companion, treks through gorgeous but forbidding wilderness, glimpses of larger ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.