Excerpt from Past Due by William Lashner, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Past Due

by William Lashner

Past Due
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Apr 2004, 480 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2005, 576 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"It's a wake."

"Who died?"

"Do it matter?"

Hell, no, it didn't matter. The crowd grew, grew louder, more frantic. "Two more, Earl," said a man with both hands already filled with drinks. "Let me have some more of this pink crap," said another, "but this time wit."

Charlie climbed himself up top the pool table as the juke box sang, "Day-o, day-ay-ay-o, daylight come and me wan' go home."

"I always liked that Sidney Poitier," said someone.

"Hell of a singer," said another.

Lift six foot, seven foot, eight foot bunch.

"Two more sody pops, Earl," shouted Charlie on the pool table just before he collapsed on his back, his head banging off the felt like an eight ball.

Daylight come and me wan' to go home.

Just as I was running out of cranberry juice for the third time, when the beat cops had stopped in for the second time, when we were listening to "Mambo Italiano" for the fifth time, someone called out, "Frank," and it turned into a chant, "Frank, Frank, Frank," and someone else banged the jukebox, skipping off Rosemary Clooney before he punched in a number by memory and soon enough the sweetest voice that ever was come pouring out like liquid regret. The place immediately calmed, Sinatra sang Paul Anka's surly anthem to individuality, we leaned one against the other and listened and sang along badly and when Frank had let out his final "My way," Earl raised up his seabreeze and said, "To Joey Parma."

A razzing of Yo's and Hurrahs.

"We all knew his dad," said Earl. "The best damn meat man in the city. I remembers when Joey was just a kid, coming in here to pull his dad home. They weren't on the best of terms, yous remember, but that's the way it is with dads and sons. He wouldn't come here when his dad was alive, but as soon as Joey Senior died, Joey Junior, he started showing up. He said to me, he said, Earl, there ought always be a Parma at Jimmy T's. And there always was, though I guess unless that battle ax shows her face, there won't be none no more. But let's give Joey his due. Can't say the man wasn't consistent. He went out the way he lived his life -- in debt. To Joey Parma."

"To Joey Parma," came the response from the congregation.

"Good," said Earl. "Now somebody want to scrape Charlie off the pool table?"

*****

"Tell me about Joey's last night," I asked Earl when the money had all been stashed, the glasses cleaned, the jukebox unplugged and the place every bit as quiet and sullen as it had been when we first stepped inside. He stood behind the bar, leaning on his arm, talking to us as Beth and I sat each on a stool. He had seemed like a dour old coot when first we met, but our seabreeze party had opened him up like a steamed clam.

"Nothing to tell, Victor," said Earl Ganz, my new best friend. "A cop came in asking the same thing and I had nothing for him, neither. A big black fellow with some Swedish name."

"McDeiss?"

"Yeah."

"It's Scottish."

"Funny, he don't look Scottish."

"He doesn't look Swedish either. Just tell me anything you can remember."

"He was the same as always, came in ordered a Bud wit, felt around in his pockets and then told me just to put it on his tab."

"And you did?"

"Yeah, I always did. When I got out of the VA and my pension wasn't enough to take care of the family, his dad took care of me, you know. I always had meat on the table. A lot of shit you can eat in your life when you got meat on the table. So with Joey, out of respect for his dad, I let the tab run."

"He promise to pay it off?"

The foregoing is excerpted from Past Due by William Lashner. All rights reserved. No part of this book may be used or reproduced without written permission from HarperCollins Publishers, 10 East 53rd Street, New York, NY 10022

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.