Excerpt from Another Day In Paradise by Carol Bergman, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Another Day In Paradise

International Humanitarian Workers Tell Their Stories

by Carol Bergman

Another Day In Paradise
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Oct 2003, 256 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt



In many ways, an anthology is not representative, nor can it be completely balanced or inclusive. Solicitations for stories went out in many forms, and through many channels: e-mail broadcasts, word of mouth, flyers at conferences. As editor, I could only work with what was offered; not everyone was willing or able to interrupt his or her work to reflect and write. A few stories were abandoned half-finished, or were simply not workable, or came in past deadline. For the most part, however, once a worker committed to writing a story, he or she stuck with it to the very end, even if this meant weeks of revision via e-mail or over coffee in London or New York. The result is an anthology that is gripping to read and startling in its contribution to the discourse about humanitarian work.

Carol Bergman
New York City
Fall, 2002

From Another Day In Paradise edited by Carol Bergman. No part of this book may be reproduced without written permission from the publisher or author.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.