MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Excerpt from A Question of Blood by Ian Rankin, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Question of Blood

An Inspector Rebus Novel

by Ian Rankin

A Question of Blood by Ian Rankin X
A Question of Blood by Ian Rankin
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2004, 416 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2005, 544 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"Get out then, the pair of you." Templer made a show of reaching for some paperwork. "Soon as there's news from the fire investigators, I'll let you know."

"Very decent of you, boss," Rebus said, rising to his feet. Back in the CID room, he had Siobhan slide a hand into his jacket pocket, bringing out a small plastic jar of pills. "Bastards measured them out like gold," he complained. "Get me some water, will you?" She fetched a bottle from her desk and helped him wash down two tablets. When he demanded a third, she checked the label.

"Says to take two every four hours." "One more won't do any harm." "Not going to last long at this rate."

"There's a prescription in my other pocket. We'll stop at a chemist's once we're on the road."

She screwed the top of the jar back on. "Thanks for taking me with you."

"No problem." He paused. "Want to talk about Fairstone?" "Not particularly." "Fair enough." "I'm assuming neither of us is responsible." Her eyes bored into his.

"Correct," he said. "Which means we can concentrate on helping Bobby Hogan instead. But there's one last thing before we start. . ." "What?" "Any chance you could do my tie properly? Nurse hadn't a clue." She smiled. "I've been waiting to get my hands around your throat." "Any more of that and I'll throw you back to the boss."

But he didn't, even when she proved incapable of following his instructions for knotting a tie. In the end, the woman at the chemist's did it for him while they waited for the pharmacist to fill his prescription. "Used to do it for my husband all the time," she said. "God rest his soul."

Outside on the sidewalk, Rebus looked up and down the street. "I need cigarettes," he said.

"Don't expect me to light them for you," Siobhan said, folding her arms. He stared at her. "I'm serious," she added. "This is the best chance of quitting that you're ever likely to have." He narrowed his eyes. "You're enjoying this, aren't you?" "Beginning to," she admitted, opening the car door for him with a flourish of her arm.

Copyright © 2003 by Ian Rankin.  All rights reserved. No part of this book may be reproduced in any form without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Bear
    The Bear
    by Andrew Krivak
    The Bear feels like a novel I've been awaiting for years. I received the book and its message with ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Island of Sea Women
    by Lisa See
    Lisa See's latest novel, The Island of Sea Women, follows the lives of Mi-ja and Young-sook, two ...
  • Book Jacket: Race Against Time
    Race Against Time
    by Jerry Mitchell
    Jerry Mitchell spent nearly three decades trailing cold cases from the Civil Rights Movement. As a ...
  • Book Jacket: The Resisters
    The Resisters
    by Gish Jen
    Gish Jen's The Resisters depicts a future United States, dubbed AutoAmerica, where climate change ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Mountains Sing
    by Nguyen Phan Que Mai

    An enveloping, multigenerational tale set against the backdrop of the Viet Nam War.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    And They Called It Camelot
    by Stephanie Marie Thornton

    An unforgettable portrait of American legend Jackie O.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Mostly Dead Things

Mostly Dead Things
by Kristen Arnett

"Hilarious, deeply morbid, and full of heart."
- BuzzFeed

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T Die I C

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.