Excerpt from The Pursuit of Alice Thrift by Elinor Lipman, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Pursuit of Alice Thrift

by Elinor Lipman

The Pursuit of Alice Thrift
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2003, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2004, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


I hoped he was joking, but humor comprehension was never my strong suit. I asked, "Did I take measurements that day, or a history?"

Still smiling, he said, "You don't remember me at all, do you?"

I said, "It's coming back to me. Definitely." Studying his nose in profile, I added, "I'm not a plastic surgeon. I just happened to be in the wrong place at the wrong time."

"Just the opposite! Thanks to you, I'm going to live with this nose of mine and see how it goes. I know a couple of guys who had nose jobs—I'm not saying they were done upstairs—but I think they look pretty fake."

I stated for the record—should anyone more senior be listening—"We have some true artists in the department. You could come up and look at the before-and-after photos. They're quite reassuring."

He waved away the whole notion. "I could die on the table, and then what? My obituary would say ‘Died suddenly after no illness whatsoever'? ‘In pursuit of a more handsome face'? How would my old man feel? It's his nose I inherited."

"General anesthesia always carries a risk," I said, "and of course there's always swelling and ecchymoses, but I doubt whether the hospital has ever lost a rhinoplasty patient."

He smiled again. He tapped the back of my hand and said, "You're a serious one, aren't you?"

I confirmed that I was and always would be: a serious infant, a serious child, a serious teenager, a serious student, a serious adult.

"Not the worst quality in a human being," Ray allowed.

I said, "It would help me in all the arenas of my life if I were a touch more gregarious."

"Highly overrated," said Ray Russo. "Any doofus, any deejay or salesman, or waitress, can be gregarious, but they can't do what you do."

It sounded almost logical. He asked if a cup of coffee was enough for dinner. Didn't I want to move to a booth and have a burger? Or to a place where we could share a carafe of wine?

Excerpted from The Pursuit of Alice Thrift by Elinor Lipman Copyright© 2003 by Elinor Lipman. Excerpted by permission of Random House, a division of Random House, Inc. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.