Excerpt from Sam by Tom Hallman, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Sam

The Boy behind the Mask

by Tom Hallman

Sam by Tom Hallman X
Sam by Tom Hallman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2002, 224 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2003, 224 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


Sam has spent the last four days in this February 2000 carefully choosing what to wear. He's discarded one shirt after another, trying for the right combination with the pants hanging in his closet. But it doesn't matter. Sam could show up in the latest fashion, and still, he knows, no girl would swoon over him.

Tonight, he simply wants to blend in, to be like everybody else. He knows that will be impossible.

Suddenly Sam drops his pencil. He fights to breathe. A ragged burst of air escapes from the hole in his throat-the tracheostomy allows air to funnel directly into his lungs, bypassing the swollen tissue that blocks the usual airway. His classmates turn to look at him. Casually, to avoid attracting any more attention, Sam drops his head and coughs, attempting to clear the blockage. Nothing. He snaps his head back and wheezes.

Mr. Hartinger gets up from his desk. Every teacher in the school has been trained to help Sam, but he hates being helped. He waves Mr. Hartinger away, then stands and backs out of the classroom. He uses the weight of his body to close the door, and his violent coughing now echoes through the empty hall. Sam's airway remains blocked, filled with mucus and fluids that flow from a vascular system gone awry, a condition that has puzzled doctors from the moment he was born.

He moves down a set of steps, holding the handrail to keep his balance, then toward the main office, where a portable suction device is kept for him.

"Hi, Sam," the principal's secretary says when he opens the door. "Are you okay?"

Sam forces a nod. Sometimes he loses the struggle with his mouth and tongue to shape words. He finds it easier simply to shake his head.

He rummages through a shelf, looking for the brown grocery bag he has carried from home. From inside he pulls out a blue nylon case the size of a small lunch pail. He tucks it under his arm and steps quickly into the hall, taking care to slip past the nurse's office. If she sees him with the blue case she'll ask questions.

Sam turns left and goes into the boys' bathroom, where he bends to peer under the stalls. When he's sure he's alone, he walks to the sink, unzips the case, and uncoils a tube that looks like a small vacuum cleaner hose. Attached to one end is a thin white nozzle. He guides the nozzle into a piece of plastic at the hole in his throat. He activates the machine. A hum fills the room, and the device clears his airway. Sam sucks in a deep breath and coughs. When he feels he is breathing normally, he removes the nozzle and replaces the tube in the case.

He pauses to study his face in the mirror, to see what others see when they look at him.

A huge mass of flesh balloons from the left side of his face. The main body of tissue, laced with blue veins, swells in a dome from sideburn level to chin. The mass draws his left eye into a slit, warps his mouth into a small inverted half-moon. It looks as though someone had slapped three pounds of wet clay onto his face, where it clings, burying the boy inside.

But his right eye is clear and perfectly formed. His iris is a deep, penetrating brown, and the third of his face surrounding this normal eye gives the impression of a normal teenager. Sam's close-cropped hair is shaped carefully, trimmed neatly behind his delicate right ear. His right cheek glows with the blushing good health that the rest of his face has obscured.

There is the mask.

And there is the boy behind the mask.

The last school bell rings, and students crowd out of classrooms and jam the halls. They gather in front of lockers to talk, they shout and make plans for the afternoon.

Sam slips through them unnoticed. He bangs his locker shut and exits through a side door. A basketball game is under way on a court outside, but Sam doesn't join in. He likes shooting baskets with his friends, but his head makes it hard for him to maintain his balance in a real game, where players are pushed and collide.

From Sam: The Boy Behind the Mask by Tom Hallman, Copyright © October 2002, Putnam Pub Group, a member of Penguin Putnam, Inc., used by permission.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.