Excerpt from The Right Words at The Right Time by Marlo Thomas, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Right Words at The Right Time

by Marlo Thomas

The Right Words at The Right Time by Marlo Thomas
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2002, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2004, 416 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt



CONTENTS

  • Muhammad Ali
  • Christiane Amanpour
  • Stephen Ambrose
  • Jennifer Aniston
  • Lance Armstrong
  • Candice Bergen
  • Jeff Bezos
  • David Boies
  • Tom Brokaw
  • Mel Brooks
  • Barbara Bush
  • Laura Bush
  • President Jimmy Carter
  • Hillary Rodham Clinton
  • Chuck Close
  • Kenneth Cole
  • Bill Cosby
  • Katie Couric
  • Cindy Crawford
  • Walter Cronkite
  • Cameron Crowe
  • Billy Crystal
  • Ellen DeGeneres
  • Barry Diller
  • Dr. Peter Doherty
  • Phil Donahue
  • Michael Eisner
  • Daniel Ellsberg
  • Betty Ford
  • Diane von Furstenberg
  • Frank Gehry
  • Richard Gephardt
  • The Honorable Ruth Bader Ginsburg
  • Rudolph Giuliani
  • Whoopi Goldberg
  • William Goldman
  • Doris Kearns Goodwin
  • Matt Groening
  • Uta Hagen
  • Scott Hamilton
  • Mia Hamm
  • Dr. David Ho
  • Arianna Huffington
  • James Jeffords
  • Philip Johnson
  • Robert Johnson
  • Quincy Jones
  • Andrea Jung
  • David E. Kelley
  • Billie Jean King
  • Ted Koppel
  • Ralph Lauren
  • Ang Lee
  • John Leguizamo
  • Jay Leno
  • Maya Lin
  • David Mamet
  • Wilma Mankiller
  • Mary Matalin
  • Dave Matthews
  • John McCain
  • Paul McCartney
  • Dennis Miller
  • Toni Morrison
  • Ralph Nader
  • Willie Nelson
  • Paul Newman
  • Mike Nichols
  • Jack Nicholson
  • Conan O'Brien
  • Rosie O'Donnell
  • Shaquille O'Neal
  • Al Pacino
  • Gwyneth Paltrow
  • Sarah Jessica Parker
  • Sean Penn
  • Itzhak Perlman
  • Bob Pittman
  • Sidney Poitier
  • Vladimir Pozner
  • Anna Quindlen
  • Dr. Sally Ride
  • Cal Ripken Jr.
  • Dennis Rivera
  • Chris Rock
  • Ray Romano
  • Carlos Santana
  • Diane Sawyer
  • Martin Sheen
  • Dr. Ruth Simmons
  • Carly Simon
  • Sammy Sosa
  • Steven Spielberg
  • George Steinbrenner
  • Gloria Steinem
  • Martha Stewart
  • Amy Tan
  • Julie Taymor
  • Twyla Tharp
  • Ted Turner
  • Mike Wallace
  • Barbara Walters
  • Vera Wang
  • Wendy Wasserstein
  • Maxine Waters
  • Venus Williams
  • Oprah Winfrey
  • Tom Wolfe
  • A Letter from the Dalai Lama


FOREWORD

"Tell me a fact and I'll learn. Tell me a truth and I'll believe. But tell me a story and it will live in my heart forever."

-- Indian Proverb

When I was a child I loved to watch my father shave. I sat on the closed toilet seat and marveled at the sound of the razor gliding over his face, pushing aside the foamy soap like a shovel in the snow. I adored him, this grand figure who slapped lotion on his cheeks every morning, buttoned his clean white shirt and hugged me good-bye.

Once, my father made a movie with Margaret O'Brien and he often took me to the set. I would cue his lines as we drove to the MGM studios with the windows open and the heady mix of Old Spice and a Cuban cigar swirling about us as we carried on a kind of rehearsal in transit. On the set I played jacks with Margaret between takes, and when the bell rang, I would join the crew in their silence as the cameras rolled and the boom mike moved into position to record the dialogue I knew by heart.

I was in awe of my father and sinfully envious of Margaret O'Brien. I wore pigtails. I wanted freckles. I wanted to be Margaret O'Brien. Ten years later, at age seventeen, I got my chance.

I played the lead in Gigi in a summer stock production at the Laguna Playhouse south of Los Angeles. The excitement of finally being a real actress was painfully short-lived. All the interviews and all the reviews focused on my father. Would I be as good as my father? Was I as gifted, as funny? Would I be as popular? I was devastated.

  • 1
  • 2

Excerpted from The Right Words at the Right Time by Thomas Marlo, Copyright © 2002. Reproduced with permissionof the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...

Who Said...

Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.