MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Excerpt from Saffy's Angel by Hilary McKay, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Saffy's Angel

by Hilary McKay

Saffy's Angel by Hilary McKay X
Saffy's Angel by Hilary McKay
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2002, 160 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2003, 160 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"Sometimes they give them back at the end of term," he told her comfortingly. "Anyway, you can always do another. Let's go home!"

"It was my best ever," repeated Rose, not moving.

"We can't stay here all night!"

Rose still did not budge.

"Oh, all right!" said Indigo in exasperation. "I'll go and pinch it off the wall for you! Just this once! Never again!"

"No, never again," agreed Rose, cheering up with amazing speed and following as he led the way back into school and along the empty corridors to the scene of the crime.

"This is only because it's your first day!" he told her. "You needn't think I'm doing it every time they stick a picture of yours up on the wall...."

"I shan't do any more pictures," said Rose, pushing open the door of the class-one classroom (luckily empty). "I shan't do anything else, ever. Not at school."

"That's what you think! Where's this picture, then? Is that it?"

"Yes. Do you like it?"

"Mmmm," said Indigo, levering out the thumbtacks. "Not bad. Bit like a banana. There you are. Roll it up! Oy! Wait for me!"

Rose did not wait, but sprinted out of school as fast as she could and was well on her way down the road home before Indigo caught up with her.

"What about in the morning?" he asked as they half jogged and half walked along together. "What'll you tell them if they notice?"

"I could not go back in the morning," said Rose hopefully, but Indigo squashed that idea at once. For a while he walked along frowning, with his hands in his pockets.

"I know," he said suddenly, looking up. "We'll make a copy! They can have that! Easy, especially if Saffron and Caddy help!"

"Saffron won't," said Rose, and Saffron wouldn't.

"You'll never get away with it!" she said after one look at the banana. "No one could copy that! They'll see it's the wrong one straightaway!"

"Course they won't," said Caddy, now eighteen and at college, supposed to be passing a few exams. "Give it here, Rose! I'll do it for you."

Caddy's copy was perfect, down to four thumbtack holes in the corners.

"Just in case anyone catches you with it before you get it up on the classroom wall," she explained. "If I didn't put them in, it would be obvious at once that you were planting a fake. Mind you use the same holes when you pin it up!"

Indigo and Rose looked at her with respect. Caddy could be surprisingly intelligent, considering how many exams she had failed.

Everything went exactly to plan. Indigo and Rose left for school extra early the next morning and pinned the copy of the Banana House in place, and nobody ever spotted the difference.

"You think you are all so clever," said Saffron.

"You could have helped," Rose pointed out. "You didn't want to help."

"No, I didn't," snapped Saffron crossly.

"It doesn't matter anyway," said Rose tranquilly, admiring her picture for the hundredth time through half-closed eyes. "Because I've got it safe now. It just needs framing...a big gold frame..."

"What needs a big gold frame?" asked Eve, coming through the door in time to catch Rose's last words. "Your picture, Rose? Why don't you ask Daddy when he comes home next. He's good at frames. Saffy darling, I came in to ask you to hurry back from school tomorrow. Grandad's coming for the evening."

"Grandad doesn't only like Saffron!" said Rose.

"Of course he doesn't," said Eve.

"I need a big gold frame now, not when Daddy comes home!"

"I might have one in the shed you could use."

"Grandad likes all of us just the same."

"Of course he does," agreed Eve soothingly, and she smiled at Saffron over Rose's head.

Saffron's black mood slipped away and she found herself smiling back, and she said to Rose, "Of course he likes us all just the same."

Copyright © 2001 by Hilary McKay

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...
  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...
  • Book Jacket: A Good Neighborhood
    A Good Neighborhood
    by Therese Anne Fowler
    After fictionalized biographies of Zelda Fitzgerald (Z, 2013) and Alva Vanderbilt (A Well-Behaved ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Sun Down Motel
    by Simone St. James

    The chilling new novel from the national bestselling and award-winning author of The Broken Girls.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
American Dirt
by Jeanine Cummins

"American Dirt is a Grapes of Wrath for our times."
—Don Winslow

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.