Jennifer Vanderbes biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Jennifer Vanderbes

Jennifer Vanderbes

Jennifer Vanderbes Biography

Jennifer Vanderbes was born in New York City in 1974. She received her B.A. in English Literature from Yale and her M.F.A. in Creative Writing from the Iowa Writers' Workshop, where she was a Truman Capote Fellow. After graduate school, she was awarded a McCreight Fiction Fellowship at the University of Wisconsin, and then the Creative Writing Fellowship at Colgate University. Her first novel, Easter Island was named a "best book of 2003" by the Washington Post and Christian Science Monitor and was translated into 16 languages. Her third book, The Secret of Raven Point (2014), is a World War II novel set in Italy.

Vanderbes has taught creative writing at the Iowa Writers' Workshop and Columbia University's M.F.A. program. She was a 2006 Guggenheim Fellow, and was recently named a Cullman Fellow at the New York Public Library for 2007-2008.

Her nonfiction has appeared in The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Atlantic. Her short fiction has appeared in Granta, Fantasy & Science Fiction, and Best New American Voices 2000. She lives in New York City.

Jennifer Vanderbes's website

This bio was last updated on 10/17/2015. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Jennifer Vanderbes at BookBrowse
The Secret of Raven Point jacket Strangers at the Feast jacket Easter Island jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Jennifer Vanderbes but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Alan Brennert

    Alan Brennert

    Alan Brennert was born in Englewood, New Jersey, to Herbert E. Brennert, an aviation writer, and Almyra E. Brennert, an apartment rentals manager.  He grew up in Cliffside Park and Edgewater, New Jersey, always living ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Easter Island

    Try:
    Moloka'i
    by Alan Brennert

  • Allegra Goodman

    Allegra Goodman

    Allegra Goodman was born in Brooklyn, New York in 1967, but grew up in Honolulu. She has been writing prose avidly since the age of seven.

    Her first book, a collection of stories titled Total Immersion, was published in 1989 ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Easter Island

    Try:
    Paradise Park
    by Allegra Goodman

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Smiling Man
    The Smiling Man
    by Joseph Knox
    Joseph Knox's latest turns on a simple premise: an unidentified and unidentifiable murdered man is ...
  • Book Jacket: The Heavens
    The Heavens
    by Sandra Newman
    I've been a big fan of Sandra Newman's writing ever since reading her 2014 novel The Country of Ice ...
  • Book Jacket: Sugar Run
    Sugar Run
    by Mesha Maren
    Mesha Maren's debut novel is a plunge into the depths of the dark Southern gothic with pulsing and ...
  • Book Jacket: Code Name Lise
    Code Name Lise
    by Larry Loftis
    Odette Sansom (1912 – 1995), a Frenchwoman married to a British man and living in the English ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Last Year of the War
    by Susan Meissner

    A little-known story of WWII with great resonance for our times.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    A People's History of Heaven
    by Mathangi Subramanian

    A story of love and friendship, and fighting for the places we love.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Girls Burn Brighter
by Shobha Rao

An extraordinary and heart-rending tale of two girls with all the odds against them.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Book Club Giveaway!
Win The Summer Country

Win up to 12 copies to share with friends or your book club!

A sweeping epic of lost love, lies, jealousy, and rebellion set in colonial Barbados.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D T T! Full S A!

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.