Meghan Daum biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Meghan Daum
Alexandra Dean Grossi

Meghan Daum

Meghan Daum Biography

Meghan Daum is the author of Life Would Be Perfect If I Lived In That House, a personal chronicle of real estate addiction and obsessive fascination with houses, as well as the novel The Quality of Life Report and the essay collections My Misspent Youth and The Unspeakable: And Other Subjects of Discussion.

Since 2005 she has written a weekly column for The Los Angeles Times. She has contributed to public radio's Morning Edition, Marketplace and This American Life and has written for numerous publications, including The New Yorker, Harper's, GQ, Vogue, Self, New York, Travel & Leisure, BlackBook, Harper's Bazaar, The Village Voice, and The New York Times Book Review.

Equal parts reporter, storyteller, and satirist, Daum has inspired controversy over a range of topics, including social politics, class warfare and the semiotics of shag carpet. Meghan's work is included in dozens of college textbooks and anthologies.

Born in California in 1970, Daum was raised primarily on the east coast and is a graduate of Vassar College and the MFA writing program at Columbia University's School of the Arts as well as at the California Institute for the Arts and the Nebraska Summer Writers' Conference.

She spent several years in New York City and later Nebraska. She lives in Los Angeles with her husband, Alan Zarembo, and their sheepdog, Rex.

Meghan was a 2013 mentor for PEN USA's Emerging Voices Program. She also volunteers as a foster child advocate for Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) of Los Angeles County.

Meghan Daum's website

This bio was last updated on 11/20/2014. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Join Meghan Daum as she discusses her obsession with names, the challenges of adapting The Quality of Life Report to a screenplay, and offers an enjoyable insight into her own writing process . . . "akin to hysteria."

The parallel between your life and Lucinda's is unmistakable. You once worked for a fashion magazine and then moved to Nebraska. At what stage in your own move did the novel idea come into play? How much of your real-life experience influenced the book?

I'd been in Nebraska for well over a year before I started the novel. I remember the day I actually began writing. There were several inches of snow on the ground and it was the coldest winter anyone had seen in years. I'd been thinking a lot about a phenomenon called prairie madness, which was a kind of mental illness that afflicted many of the early settlers to the region, particularly those who came from the east during the Homestead Act of 1863. It was believed that the combination of isolation on the plains and, moreover, the incessant shrieking wind literally drove people insane. It seemed to affect women in particular, many of whom had come from the east, usually at the behest of their husbands, and were used to more refined conditions and larger communities. The deal with the Homestead Act was that families were given 160-acre plots of land, which they could own outright if they managed to farm it and live on it for five years. The act had been ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Meghan Daum at BookBrowse
The Quality of Life Report jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Meghan Daum but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Caroline Hwang

    Caroline Hwang

    Caroline Hwang is a magazine editor and writer whose work has appeared in Glamour, Redbook, Self, Newsweek, Mademoiselle, CosmoGirl, and YM. She is a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania with an M.F.A. from New York ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Quality of Life Report

    Try:
    In Full Bloom
    by Caroline Hwang

  • Carrie Kabak

    Carrie Kabak

    Carrie Kabak is an author, illustrator and graphic designer. She is the author of an Independent Booksellers' Pick, Cover the Butter. Her essays appear in "For Keeps" and "He Said What?" (Seal Press), "Exit Laughing" (North ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Quality of Life Report

    Try:
    Cover The Butter
    by Carrie Kabak

We recommend 3 similar authors

View all 3 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.75 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Facemaker
    The Facemaker
    by Lindsey Fitzharris
    The summer of 1914 saw the beginning of World War I, the bloody conflict known as the 'war to end ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Read Now
    How to Read Now
    by Elaine Castillo
    Toni Morrison once wrote, 'My project rises from delight, not disappointment.' This remark appeared ...
  • Book Jacket: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow
    Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow
    by Gabrielle Zevin
    It's been more than 20 years since Michael Chabon's The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Klay won ...
  • Book Jacket: Cult Classic
    Cult Classic
    by Sloane Crosley
    At a trendy Chinese restaurant in downtown Manhattan, Lola, the protagonist of Sloane Crosley's ...

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Some of It Was Real
    by Nan Fischer

    A psychic on the verge of stardom and a cynical journalist are brought together by secrets that threaten to tear them apart.

  • Book Jacket

    Dirt Creek
    by Hayley Scrivenor

    "A heart-wrenching mystery, Scrivenor's remarkable sense of place brings Dirt Creek to life. A stellar debut."
    —Jane Harper,

Who Said...

Happiness makes up in height for what it lacks in length.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

N I, ands, O B

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.