Randy Wayne White biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Randy Wayne White

Randy Wayne White

Randy Wayne White Biography

Randy Wayne White is a New York Times best selling author whose novel, Sanibel Flats, was chosen by the American Independent Mystery Booksellers Association as one of the Hundred Favorite Mysteries of the 20th Century.

He was a light tackle fishing guide at Tarpon Bay Marina, Sanibel Island for 13 years, did more than 3,000 charters, and draws heavily on those experiences for his novels about marine biologist Doc Ford and his quirky pals at Dinkin’s Bay.

His tenth novel, Everglades, was published by G.P. Putnam's Sons in the Spring of 2003 to reviews that cemented his position as "one of the hottest writers in America" (Booklist). His previous novels, Twelve Mile Limit, Shark River, Ten Thousand Islands, The Mangrove Coast, North of Havana, Captiva, and others have accumulated a cult following around the nation.

A collection of essays and articles, Batfishing in the Rainforest, was published by Lyons & Burford in December 1991, and has also received excellent reviews.

Other collections of essays include, The Sharks of Lake Nicaragua, Last Flight Out, An American Traveler.

White was also a monthly columnist for Outside Magazine. For his "Out There" column, he traveled around the world, writing about natural history, archaeology, anthropology, adventure travel and politics. He covered the America's Cup races in Australia, and has written about Sumatra, Singapore, Central America, Vietnam, Borneo, Malaya, Ireland, the Cayman and Windward Islands, and South America. He has dog sledded in Alaska and brought back refugees from Cuba.

White has been awarded the Conch Republic Prize for Literature, along with such notable authors as John Cheever, Peter Matthiessen, Jim Harrison, and Thomas McGuane. He also won the John D. MacDonald Award for Literacy Excellence.  His national PBS documentary The Gift of the Game, about taking baseball gear to children in Cuba, which he wrote and narrated, won the 2002 Woods Hole Film festival Best of best Award.

White lives alone with his Golden Retriever in an old house on an Indian mound, an acre on the bay, traveling and socializing a lot in his 21-Maverick flats boat. He loves to windsurf.

Randy Wayne White's website

This bio was last updated on 07/09/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Randy Wayne White at BookBrowse
Night Vision jacket Deep Shadow jacket Dead Silence jacket Black Widow jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Randy Wayne White but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Michael Connelly

    Michael Connelly

    Michael Connelly decided to become a writer after discovering the books of Raymond Chandler while attending the University of Florida. Once he decided on this direction he chose a major in journalism and a minor in creative ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Everglades

    Try:
    Angels Flight
    by Michael Connelly

  • Clive Cussler

    Clive Cussler

    Clive Cussler grew up in Alhambra, California. He attended Pasadena City College for two years, then enlisted in the Air Force during the Korean War and served as an aircraft mechanic and flight engineer in the Military Air ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Everglades

    Try:
    Trojan Odyssey
    by Clive Cussler

We recommend 3 similar authors

View all 3 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Pianist from Syria
    The Pianist from Syria
    by Aeham Ahmad
    Aeham Ahmad became famous as the face of Syrian suffering when a photo of him playing piano in the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Smiling Man
    The Smiling Man
    by Joseph Knox
    Joseph Knox's latest turns on a simple premise: an unidentified and unidentifiable murdered man is ...
  • Book Jacket: The Heavens
    The Heavens
    by Sandra Newman
    I've been a big fan of Sandra Newman's writing ever since reading her 2014 novel The Country of Ice ...
  • Book Jacket: Sugar Run
    Sugar Run
    by Mesha Maren
    Mesha Maren's debut novel is a plunge into the depths of the dark Southern gothic with pulsing and ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Last Year of the War
    by Susan Meissner

    A little-known story of WWII with great resonance for our times.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    American Princess
    by Stephanie Marie Thornton

    Rated 4.9 stars by BookBrowse members - one of the highest scores of all time!
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Girls Burn Brighter
by Shobha Rao

An extraordinary and heart-rending tale of two girls with all the odds against them.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Book Club Giveaway!
Win The Summer Country

Win up to 12 copies to share with friends or your book club!

A sweeping epic of lost love, lies, jealousy, and rebellion set in colonial Barbados.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D T T! Full S A!

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.