We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Randy Wayne White biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Randy Wayne White

Randy Wayne White

Randy Wayne White Biography

Randy Wayne White is a New York Times best selling author whose novel, Sanibel Flats, was chosen by the American Independent Mystery Booksellers Association as one of the Hundred Favorite Mysteries of the 20th Century.

He was a light tackle fishing guide at Tarpon Bay Marina, Sanibel Island for 13 years, did more than 3,000 charters, and draws heavily on those experiences for his novels about marine biologist Doc Ford and his quirky pals at Dinkin’s Bay.

His tenth novel, Everglades, was published by G.P. Putnam's Sons in the Spring of 2003 to reviews that cemented his position as "one of the hottest writers in America" (Booklist). His previous novels, Twelve Mile Limit, Shark River, Ten Thousand Islands, The Mangrove Coast, North of Havana, Captiva, and others have accumulated a cult following around the nation.

A collection of essays and articles, Batfishing in the Rainforest, was published by Lyons & Burford in December 1991, and has also received excellent reviews.

Other collections of essays include, The Sharks of Lake Nicaragua, Last Flight Out, An American Traveler.

White was also a monthly columnist for Outside Magazine. For his "Out There" column, he traveled around the world, writing about natural history, archaeology, anthropology, adventure travel and politics. He covered the America's Cup races in Australia, and has written about Sumatra, Singapore, Central America, Vietnam, Borneo, Malaya, Ireland, the Cayman and Windward Islands, and South America. He has dog sledded in Alaska and brought back refugees from Cuba.

White has been awarded the Conch Republic Prize for Literature, along with such notable authors as John Cheever, Peter Matthiessen, Jim Harrison, and Thomas McGuane. He also won the John D. MacDonald Award for Literacy Excellence.  His national PBS documentary The Gift of the Game, about taking baseball gear to children in Cuba, which he wrote and narrated, won the 2002 Woods Hole Film festival Best of best Award.

White lives alone with his Golden Retriever in an old house on an Indian mound, an acre on the bay, traveling and socializing a lot in his 21-Maverick flats boat. He loves to windsurf.

Randy Wayne White's website

This bio was last updated on 07/09/2016. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Randy Wayne White at BookBrowse
Night Vision jacket Deep Shadow jacket Dead Silence jacket Black Widow jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Randy Wayne White but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

  • Michael Connelly

    Michael Connelly

    Michael Connelly decided to become a writer after discovering the books of Raymond Chandler while attending the University of Florida. Once he decided on this direction he chose a major in journalism and a minor in creative ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Everglades

    Try:
    Angels Flight
    by Michael Connelly

  • Clive Cussler

    Clive Cussler

    Clive Cussler grew up in Alhambra, California. He attended Pasadena City College for two years, then enlisted in the Air Force during the Korean War and served as an aircraft mechanic and flight engineer in the Military Air ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Everglades

    Try:
    Trojan Odyssey
    by Clive Cussler

We recommend 3 similar authors

View all 3 Read-Alikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ascent
    The Ascent
    by Adam Plantinga
    Adam Plantinga's brilliant debut novel, The Ascent, introduces readers to former Detroit police ...
  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...
  • Book Jacket: Our Moon
    Our Moon
    by Rebecca Boyle
    In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us ...
  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

  • Book Jacket

    Becoming Madam Secretary
    by Stephanie Dray

    She took on titans, battled generals, and changed the world as we know it…

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.