Michael Mewshaw biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Michael Mewshaw

Michael Mewshaw

Michael Mewshaw Biography

Michael Mewshaw is an American author and works frequently as a travel writer, investigative reporter, book reviewer, and tennis reporter. His novel Year of the Gun was made into a film of the same name by John Frankenheimer in 1991. He is married with two sons.

His works in fiction include Man in Motion (1970), The Toll (1974), Earthly Bread (1976), Blackballed (1986), True Crime (1991), Island Tempest (2005) and Lying with the Dead (2009). His non-fiction works include Short Circuit: Six Months on the Men's Professional Tennis Tour (1983), Money to Burn (1987), Ladies of the Court: Grace And Disgrace On The Women's Tennis Tour (1993), If You Could See Me Now: A Chronicle of Identity and Adoption (2006), Between Terror and Tourism: An Overland Trip Across North Africa (2010) and Sympathy for the Devil: Four Decades of Friendship with Gore Vidal (2014).



This bio was last updated on 08/08/2015. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Michael Mewshaw shares his obsession with the wolf children of Midnapore, India, how other writing mediums influence his fiction and his fascination with the human situation in Central Asia.

Why did you choose Central Asia as the setting for Shelter from the Storm?
I traveled to Central Asia and finished Shelter from the Storm long before the events of September 11 and the attention that they focused on that part of the world. The area interested me as a setting for a variety of reasons. It's a dramatic landscape of mountains, desert, and rolling steppes. Its architecture, especially what remains of its sixteenth century splendor, is some of the most impressive I've ever seen. But it was the human situation that fascinated me most, the collision of cultures, religions, nations, and tribes. What would it be like, I wondered, to live where every belief system had failed, where the local currency was worthless, the police and army offered no protection, and there was no chance of escape? In short, what was it like to be human in inhuman circumstances?

What interests you about the figure of the wolf-boy? Why did you decide to make him a central character in the story?

More than twenty years ago I reviewed a book about the wolf children of Midnapore, India. The subject interested me. No, I should say it obsessed me, and I started reading the scientific literature and case studies. So much of what ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Michael Mewshaw at BookBrowse
Shelter From The Storm jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Michael Mewshaw but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Dan Fesperman

    Dan Fesperman

    Dan Fesperman grew up in North Carolina and has reported for the Fayetteville, Durham Morning Herald, Charlotte News, Miami Herald and The Baltimore Sun, and worked in its Berlin bureau during the years of civil war in the ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Shelter From The Storm

    Try:
    The Warlord's Son
    by Dan Fesperman

  • Alan Furst

    Alan Furst

    Alan Furst was born and raised on the Upper West Side of Manhattan. An only child with older parents, he wandered alone or with friends around New York and learned to love the city and its people. He attended Oberlin College,... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Shelter From The Storm

    Try:
    Blood of Victory
    by Alan Furst

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Prophet
    by Michael Koryta
    Hot diggity! How can you lose by reading a gritty whodunit about football, even if you're not a ...
  • Book Jacket: Dog Flowers
    Dog Flowers
    by Danielle Geller
    In Dog Flowers, Danielle Geller tells us what is wrong with her family: heavy drinking, abandonment,...
  • Book Jacket: The Sea Gate
    The Sea Gate
    by Jane Johnson
    In Jane Johnson's novel, The Sea Gate, set in England, readers are introduced to Becky, a young ...
  • Book Jacket: Stories from Suffragette City
    Stories from Suffragette City
    by M.J. Rose, Fiona Davis
    Our First Impressions readers were fascinated by the historical fiction from a range of authors ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Narrowboat Summer
    by Anne Youngson

    From the author of Meet Me at the Museum, a charming novel of second chances.

    Reader Reviews
  • Book Jacket

    At the Edge of the Haight
    by Katherine Seligman

    Winner of the 2019 PEN/Bellwether Prize for Socially Engaged Fiction.

    Reader Reviews
Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Moment of Lift
by Melinda Gates
How can we summon a moment of lift for women? Because when you lift up women, you lift up humanity.
Who Said...

Use what talents you possess: The woods would be very silent if no birds sang there except those that sang best

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T M T C, T M T Stay T S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.