Michael Mewshaw biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Michael Mewshaw

Michael Mewshaw

Michael Mewshaw Biography

Michael Mewshaw is an American author and works frequently as a travel writer, investigative reporter, book reviewer, and tennis reporter. His novel Year of the Gun was made into a film of the same name by John Frankenheimer in 1991. He is married with two sons.

His works in fiction include Man in Motion (1970), The Toll (1974), Earthly Bread (1976), Blackballed (1986), True Crime (1991), Island Tempest (2005) and Lying with the Dead (2009). His non-fiction works include Short Circuit: Six Months on the Men's Professional Tennis Tour (1983), Money to Burn (1987), Ladies of the Court: Grace And Disgrace On The Women's Tennis Tour (1993), If You Could See Me Now: A Chronicle of Identity and Adoption (2006), Between Terror and Tourism: An Overland Trip Across North Africa (2010) and Sympathy for the Devil: Four Decades of Friendship with Gore Vidal (2014).

About This Biography
This biography was last updated on 08/08/2015. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

An Interview with Michael Mewshaw

Why did you choose Central Asia as the setting for Shelter from the Storm?
I traveled to Central Asia and finished Shelter from the Storm long before the events of September 11 and the attention that they focused on that part of the world. The area interested me as a setting for a variety of reasons. It's a dramatic landscape of mountains, desert, and rolling steppes. Its architecture, especially what remains of its sixteenth century splendor, is some of the most impressive I've ever seen. But it was the human situation that fascinated me most, the collision of cultures, religions, nations, and tribes. What would it be like, I wondered, to live where every belief system had failed, where the local currency was worthless, the police and army offered no protection, and there was no chance of escape? In short, what was it like to be human in inhuman circumstances?

What interests you about the figure of the wolf-boy? Why did you decide to make him a central character in the story?

More than twenty years ago I reviewed a book about the wolf children of Midnapore, India. The subject interested me. No, I should say it obsessed me, and I started reading the scientific ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Michael Mewshaw at BookBrowse
Shelter From The Storm jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Michael Mewshaw but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Dan Fesperman

    Dan Fesperman

    Dan Fesperman grew up in North Carolina and has reported for the Fayetteville, Durham Morning Herald, Charlotte News, Miami Herald and The Baltimore Sun, and worked in its Berlin bureau during the years of civil war in the ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Shelter From The Storm

    Try:
    The Warlord's Son
    by Dan Fesperman

  • Alan Furst

    Alan Furst

    Alan Furst was born and raised on the Upper West Side of Manhattan. An only child with older parents, he wandered alone or with friends around New York and learned to love the city and its people. He attended Oberlin College,... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Shelter From The Storm

    Try:
    Blood of Victory
    by Alan Furst

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Under the Udala Trees
by Chinelo Okparanta

Raw, emotionally intelligent and unflinchingly honest--a triumph.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.