Michael Mewshaw biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Michael Mewshaw

Michael Mewshaw

Michael Mewshaw Biography

Michael Mewshaw is an American author and works frequently as a travel writer, investigative reporter, book reviewer, and tennis reporter. His novel Year of the Gun was made into a film of the same name by John Frankenheimer in 1991. He is married with two sons.

His works in fiction include Man in Motion (1970), The Toll (1974), Earthly Bread (1976), Blackballed (1986), True Crime (1991), Island Tempest (2005) and Lying with the Dead (2009). His non-fiction works include Short Circuit: Six Months on the Men's Professional Tennis Tour (1983), Money to Burn (1987), Ladies of the Court: Grace And Disgrace On The Women's Tennis Tour (1993), If You Could See Me Now: A Chronicle of Identity and Adoption (2006), Between Terror and Tourism: An Overland Trip Across North Africa (2010) and Sympathy for the Devil: Four Decades of Friendship with Gore Vidal (2014).



This bio was last updated on 08/08/2015. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Michael Mewshaw shares his obsession with the wolf children of Midnapore, India, how other writing mediums influence his fiction and his fascination with the human situation in Central Asia.

Why did you choose Central Asia as the setting for Shelter from the Storm?
I traveled to Central Asia and finished Shelter from the Storm long before the events of September 11 and the attention that they focused on that part of the world. The area interested me as a setting for a variety of reasons. It's a dramatic landscape of mountains, desert, and rolling steppes. Its architecture, especially what remains of its sixteenth century splendor, is some of the most impressive I've ever seen. But it was the human situation that fascinated me most, the collision of cultures, religions, nations, and tribes. What would it be like, I wondered, to live where every belief system had failed, where the local currency was worthless, the police and army offered no protection, and there was no chance of escape? In short, what was it like to be human in inhuman circumstances?

What interests you about the figure of the wolf-boy? Why did you decide to make him a central character in the story?

More than twenty years ago I reviewed a book about the wolf children of Midnapore, India. The subject interested me. No, I should say it obsessed me, and I started reading the scientific literature and case studies. So much of what ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Michael Mewshaw at BookBrowse
Shelter From The Storm jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Michael Mewshaw but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Dan Fesperman

    Dan Fesperman

    Dan Fesperman grew up in North Carolina and has reported for the Fayetteville, Durham Morning Herald, Charlotte News, Miami Herald and The Baltimore Sun, and worked in its Berlin bureau during the years of civil war in the ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Shelter From The Storm

    Try:
    The Warlord's Son
    by Dan Fesperman

  • Alan Furst

    Alan Furst

    Alan Furst was born and raised on the Upper West Side of Manhattan. An only child with older parents, he wandered alone or with friends around New York and learned to love the city and its people. He attended Oberlin College,... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Shelter From The Storm

    Try:
    Blood of Victory
    by Alan Furst

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Leonardo da Vinci
    Leonardo da Vinci
    by Walter Isaacson
    The name Leonardo da Vinci is one of the most recognized in all of Western history, and his ...
  • Book Jacket: The Immortalists
    The Immortalists
    by Chloe Benjamin
    On a summer day in 1969 in New York City, the Gold children agree to seek out a mysterious ...
  • Book Jacket: The Kites
    The Kites
    by Romain Gary, Miranda Richmond Mouillot
    Published by New Directions for the first time in English, Romain Gary's The Kites tells a story of ...
  • Book Jacket: The Kites
    The Kites
    by Romain Gary, Miranda Richmond Mouillot
    Published by New Directions for the first time in English, Romain Gary's The Kites tells a story of ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Ginny Moon by Benjamin Ludwig

A story that is at once quirky, charming, heartbreaking, suspenseful and poignant.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Days When Birds Come Back
    by Deborah Reed

    A graceful testament to endurance, rebuilding, and the possibilities of coming home.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

He has only half learned the art of reading who has not added to it the more refined art of skipping and skimming

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A J O A Thousand M B W O S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.