Peter Robinson biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Peter Robinson
Photo: Marion Ettlinger

Peter Robinson

Peter Robinson Biography

Peter Robinson is a Canadian crime writer born in Britain. He is best known for his crime novels set in Yorkshire featuring Inspector Alan Banks.

He has also published a number of other novels and short stories as well as some poems and two articles on writing. He is the winner of numerous awards in the United States, Britain and Canada, and in 2002 he won the CWA Dagger in the Library.

Fourteen of his sixteen novels to date have featured Detective Inspector Alan Banks.Since 2010 several of the novels have been adapted for television under the series title DCI Banks.



Bibliography

  1. Gallows View (1987)
  2. A Dedicated Man (1988)
  3. A Necessary End (1989)
  4. The Hanging Valley (1989)
  5. Past Reason Hated (1990)
  6. Final Account (1995)
  7. Wednesday's Child (1994)
  8. Innocent Graves (1996)
  9. Blood at the Root (1997)
  10. In a Dry Season (1999)
  11. Cold Is the Grave (2000)
  12. Aftermath (2001)
  13. Close to Home (2003)
  14. Playing with Fire (2004)
  15. A Strange Affair (2005)
  16. Piece of My Heart (2006)
  17. Friend of the Devil (2007)
  18. All the Colours of Darkness (2008)
  19. Bad Boy (2010)
  20. Watching The Dark (2012)
  21. Children Of the Revolution (2013)
  22. Abattoir Blues (2014)

Peter Robinson's website

This bio was last updated on 07/28/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Peter Robinson discusses the childhood experiences that shaped Banks' inherent complexities in Close to Home

Inspector Banks is at once gruff and longing, intuitive and scientific, reckless and meticulous. Contradictory by definition, this rich character has propelled his creator, Peter Robinson, to the top of bestseller lists on both sides on the Atlantic. Now, readers will discover the childhood experiences that shaped Banks' inherent complexities in Close to Home.

Peter Robinson's first novel, Gallows View, published in 1987, was short-listed for a best first novel award in Canada and for the John Creasey Award in the United Kingdom. Since then Robinson has followed with another 12 novels, leading Banks through the arc of a marriage and divorce, a successful career in police work, and increasingly dark and suspenseful cases.

With his most recent novel, Close to Home, readers will delight in Robinson's ability to capture an era -- the 1960s -- with complete accuracy, including the sensations, sounds, and subversions that made it different from any other time in history.

How and when was Detective Inspector Alan Banks born?
In the early 1980s I read a lot of British mysteries featuring a detective and ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Peter Robinson at BookBrowse
Watching the Dark jacket Before the Poison jacket Bad Boy jacket The Price of Love and Other Stories jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Peter Robinson but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Robert Crais

    Robert Crais

    Crais is the author of the best-selling Elvis Cole novels. A native of Louisiana, he grew up on the banks of the Mississippi River in a blue collar family of oil refinery workers and police officers. He purchased a ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Close To Home

    Try:
    The Forgotten Man
    by Robert Crais

  • Steve Hamilton

    Steve Hamilton

    Steve Hamilton is one of the most critically acclaimed writers in the world. His Alex McKnight series includes two New York Times notable books, and he's put two recent titles on the New York Times bestseller list. He's ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Playing with Fire

    Try:
    Blood Is The Sky
    by Steve Hamilton

We recommend 9 similar authors

View all 9 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...
  • Book Jacket: Fortress America
    Fortress America
    by Elaine Tyler May
    In Fortress America, Elaine Tyler May presents a fascinating but alarming portrait of America's...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Next Year in Havana
    by Chanel Cleeton

    a Cuban-American woman travels to Havana, where she finds a family secret hidden since the revolution.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    As Bright as Heaven
    by Susan Meissner

    A story of a family reborn through loss and love in Philadelphia during the flu epidemic of 1918.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Lost Girls of Camp Forevermore

The Lost Girls of Camp Forevermore

A gripping novel from the award-winning author of For Today I Am a Boy.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

G O T P, B The P, F T P

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.