Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Janet Wallach biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Janet Wallach

Janet Wallach

Janet Wallach Biography

Janet Wallach has written extensively about notable women in history, from the U.S., Europe, and the Middle East. Her book, Desert Queen; The Extraordinary Life of Gertrude Bell (1996), has been translated into twelve languages and was a New York Times notable book of the year. Her other works include Seraglio: A Novel (2003), Chanel: Her Style and Her Life (1998), and The Richest Woman in America: Hetty Green in the Gilded Age (2012). She co-authored Arafat: In the Eyes of the Beholder, a biography of Yasser Arafat; The New Palestinians, a look at the leading figures in the West Bank and Gaza; and Still Small Voices, the personal stories of ten Israelis and Palestinians during the first intifada. Wallach's recent release is Flirting with Danger (2023), which chronicle the life of Marguerite Harrison, an Ameican socialite-turned-spy, gleaning critical information between the World Wars in Germany, Russia, Turkey, and beyond. 

As a contributor to The Washington Post Magazine, Smithsonian Magazine and other periodicals, Janet Wallach has written cover story profiles of Queen Noor of Jordan, First Lady of Egypt Jihan Sadat, and Iraqi Ambassador Nizar Hamdoon. Wallach has taught at Bradford College, Earlham College, and more.

Janet Wallach is a founding director and president emeritus of Seeds of Peace, a non-profit educational and leadership training program. Seeds of Peace brings together outstanding teenagers from regions in conflict including Israelis and Arabs, Indians and Pakistanis, and Americans of diverse backgrounds.

Janet Wallach was born in New York City and attended New York University. She has two sons, David Allyn and Michael Wallach.



This bio was last updated on 10/04/2023. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Janet Wallach at BookBrowse
Flirting with Danger jacket The Richest Woman in America jacket Seraglio jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Janet Wallach but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

  • Louis de Bernieres

    Louis de Bernieres

    Louis de Bernières works include A Partisan's Daughter, Birds Without Wings, Red Dog, Sunday Morning at the Centre of the World, Corelli's Mandolin (Commonwealth Writers' Prize, Best Book, 1995), The ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Seraglio

    Try:
    Birds Without Wings
    by Louis de Bernieres

  • Dean King

    Dean King

    Dean King is an award-winning author, well established authority on nautical literature and history and on Patrick O'Brian.

    His works include A Sea of Words: A Lexicon and Companion to Patrick O'Brian's Seafaring Tales, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Seraglio

    Try:
    Skeletons on the Zahara
    by Dean King

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Read-Alikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Clear
    Clear
    by Carys Davies
    John Ferguson is a principled man. But when, in 1843, those principles drive him to break from the ...
  • Book Jacket: Change
    Change
    by Edouard Louis
    Édouard Louis's 2014 debut novel, The End of Eddy—an instant literary success, published ...
  • Book Jacket: Big Time
    Big Time
    by Ben H. Winters
    Big Time, the latest offering from prolific novelist and screenwriter Ben H. Winters, is as ...
  • Book Jacket: Becoming Madam Secretary
    Becoming Madam Secretary
    by Stephanie Dray
    Our First Impressions reviewers enjoyed reading about Frances Perkins, Franklin Delano Roosevelt's ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
A Great Country
by Shilpi Somaya Gowda
A novel exploring the ties and fractures of a close-knit Indian-American family in the aftermath of a violent encounter with the police.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

Win This Book
Win The Funeral Cryer

The Funeral Cryer by Wenyan Lu

Debut novelist Wenyan Lu brings us this witty yet profound story about one woman's midlife reawakening in contemporary rural China.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

M as A H

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.