Talia Carner biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Talia Carner
Mecox Hudson

Talia Carner

Talia Carner Biography

Talia Carner was the publisher of Savvy Woman magazine. A former adjunct professor at Long Island University School of Management and a marketing consultant to Fortune 500 companies, she was also a volunteer counselor and lecturer for the Small Business Administration and a member of United States Information Agency (USIA) missions to Russia. She participated at the 1995 International Women's Conference in Beijing, where she sat on economic panels and helped develop political campaigns for Indian and African women. Her first novel, Puppet Child launched a nationwide legislation (The Protective Parent Reform Act) that became the platform for two State Senatorial candidates. China Doll made Amazon's bestsellers list and served as the platform for Ms. Carner's presentation at the U.N. in 2007 about infanticide in China - the first ever in U.N. history. Over 30 of Carner's short stories and dozens of award-winning essays have appeared in The New York Times, anthologies, and literary magazines. Her novel, Jerusalem Maiden (2011) deals with the place of women in extremely religious societies.

Ms. Carner is a board member of HBI, a research center for Jewish women's life and culture at Brandeis University, and an honorary board member of several domestic violence and child abuse organizations. Her addictions include chocolate, ballet, hats - and social justice.

Talia Carner explains the backstory to Jerusalem Maiden



This bio was last updated on 03/26/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Talia Carner talks about her fascination with the craft of writing and with exploring characters outside her comfort zone. By splashing the basic emotion of motherhood onto the large canvas of political forces, writing enables Carner to take a sober look at the intricate forces that shape our lives.

Q: Where do you get your material?
A:
In writing fiction, I am fascinated by the thought of what it is like to live inside another body, to have a completely different set of reference points, from cultural allegories to music, food and dress. I am intrigued by the way the physical landscape shapes the people who are either confined--or freed--by it. (This is true especially for my two yet-unpublished novels, one set in Russia and one in China.) Therefore, while I have traveled extensively, I don't always belong to the places in which my novels are set, nor am I always of the people that materialize in my fiction. For me, the most exciting part about writing is discovering all that imagination within me and using it, then researching places, customs, food, plant life, weather, political system, linguistic syntax, architecture and geography. However, as did in Puppet Child, I incorporate into my writing emotions with which I am familiar--the power of motherhood, the commitment to friendship, the pain of personal growth. Writing is an outlet for my outrage over injustice, prejudice, and ignorance.

Q: It's hard not to wonder how much of PUPPET CHILD story is autobiographical.
A:
None of it. Years ago I was in...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Talia Carner at BookBrowse
Hotel Moscow jacket Jerusalem Maiden jacket Puppet Child jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Talia Carner but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Daniel Akst

    Daniel Akst

    Dan Akst is a writer whose work has appeared in the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Slate and other leading publications. His most recent book is We Have Met the Enemy: Self-Control in an... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Puppet Child

    Try:
    The Webster Chronicle
    by Daniel Akst

  • Ann-Marie MacDonald

    Ann-Marie MacDonald

    In 1996 Ann-Marie's first novel, Fall on Your Knees, was published. A critically acclaimed international best seller that was translated into 19 languages, it was short-listed for the Giller Prize, and won the People&#... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Puppet Child

    Try:
    The Way The Crow Flies
    by Ann-Marie MacDonald

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Pianist from Syria
    The Pianist from Syria
    by Aeham Ahmad
    Ahmad and his PianoAeham Ahmad became famous as the face of Syrian suffering when a photo of him playing piano in the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Smiling Man
    The Smiling Man
    by Joseph Knox
    Joseph Knox's latest turns on a simple premise: an unidentified and unidentifiable murdered man is ...
  • Book Jacket: The Heavens
    The Heavens
    by Sandra Newman
    I've been a big fan of Sandra Newman's writing ever since reading her 2014 novel The Country of Ice ...
  • Book Jacket: Sugar Run
    Sugar Run
    by Mesha Maren
    Mesha Maren's debut novel is a plunge into the depths of the dark Southern gothic with pulsing and ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    American Princess
    by Stephanie Marie Thornton

    Rated 4.9 stars by BookBrowse members - one of the highest scores of all time!
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Last Year of the War
    by Susan Meissner

    A little-known story of WWII with great resonance for our times.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Girls Burn Brighter
by Shobha Rao

An extraordinary and heart-rending tale of two girls with all the odds against them.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Book Club Giveaway!
Win The Summer Country

Win up to 12 copies to share with friends or your book club!

A sweeping epic of lost love, lies, jealousy, and rebellion set in colonial Barbados.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D T T! Full S A!

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.