Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Dr. Mel Levine biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Dr. Mel Levine

Dr. Mel Levine

Dr. Mel Levine Biography

Dr. Mel Levine was formerly a Professor of Pediatrics at the University of North Carolina Medical School in Chapel Hill, North Carolina. Dr. Levine is also the co-founder of All Kinds of Minds, a non-profit Institute for the study of differences in learning, with financier Charles R. Schwab. In addition, they co-chair the Institute's Board of Trustees. His most famous books are A Mind at a Time and The Myth of Laziness.

Over the past thirty years Levine has pioneered programs for the evaluation of children and young adults with learning, development and/or behavioral problems. In 1995, Levine received the C. Anderson Aldrich Award for outstanding contribution to the field of child development, putting him in the company of Dr. Benjamin Spock, Dr. T. Berry Brazelton and Dr. Jerome Kagan, recipients of this prestigious award in other years.

Levine graduated summa cum laude from Brown University and was a Rhodes Scholar at Oxford in England. He later graduated from Harvard Medical School and completed his pediatric training at The Children's Hospital in Boston. Levine served for fourteen years as Chief of the Division of Ambulatory Pediatrics at The Children's Hospital and was an Associate Professor of Pediatrics at The Harvard Medical School before moving to North Carolina.

In 2008, a civil lawsuit accused Dr Levine of sexually abusing young patients. While denying the accusations, Dr Levine, asked the North Carolina Medical Board to render his license inactive and volunteered to stop seeing patients at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where he was an adjunct professor of pediatrics at the School of Medicine. For more information see the New York Times 4/8/2008 and 3/20/2009.



This bio was last updated on 12/16/2013. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Dr. Mel Levine at BookBrowse
A Mind At A Time jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Dr. Mel Levine but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

  • Hara Estroff Marano

    Hara Estroff Marano

    Hara Estroff Marano is an author, journalist and editor who, although not a trained psychologist herself has been Editor-at-Large of Psychology Today for the past 15 years, in addition to writing for many other ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    A Mind At A Time

    Try:
    A Nation of Wimps
    by Hara Estroff Marano

  • Gabor Maté

    Gabor Maté

    Gabor Maté, M.D., is the bestselling author of When the Body Says No and Scattered Minds, In The Realm of Hungry Ghosts: Close Encounters with Addiction, and co-author of Hold On To Your Kids with Gordon Neufeld, Ph.D. ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    A Mind At A Time

    Try:
    Hold On To Your Kids
    by Gabor Maté

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Read-Alikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Demon of Unrest
    The Demon of Unrest
    by Erik Larson
    In the aftermath of the 1860 presidential election, the divided United States began to collapse as ...
  • Book Jacket: Daughters of Shandong
    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung
    Daughters of Shandong is the debut novel of Eve J. Chung, a human rights lawyer living in New York. ...
  • Book Jacket: Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    by Xochitl Gonzalez
    Brooklyn-based novelist Xochitl Gonzalez is an inspiring writer to follow. At forty, she decided to ...
  • Book Jacket: Icarus
    Icarus
    by K. Ancrum
    The titular protagonist of K. Ancrum's young adult novel Icarus lives a double life that mixes the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Familiar
by Leigh Bardugo
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author Leigh Bardugo comes a spellbinding novel set in the Spanish Golden Age.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    This Strange Eventful History
    by Claire Messud

    An immersive, masterful story of a family born on the wrong side of history.

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung

    Eve J. Chung's debut novel recounts a family's flight to Taiwan during China's Communist revolution.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.