Erika Krouse biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Erika Krouse
© Michael Horner

Erika Krouse

Erika Krouse Biography

Erika Krouse is a fiction writer living in Boulder, Colorado. Her short fiction has appeared or is forthcoming in The New Yorker, The Atlantic, One Story, Ploughshares, Shenandoah, Glimmer Train, Esquire.com, Crazyhorse, and Story. She has also published poetry and essays in magazines and anthologies, and reviewed for the New York Times Book Review.

Her collection of short stories, Come Up and See Me Sometime, won the Paterson Fiction Award, was chosen as a New York Times Notable Book of the year, and has been translated into six languages. Her most recent work is the novel Contenders (2015). She is a contributor to the anthologies When I Was a Loser: True Stories of (Barely) Surviving High School, The Dictionary of Failed Relationships, Where Love is Found: 24 Tales of Connection, Sex and Sensibility: 28 True Romances from the Lives of Single Women and A Galaxy Not So Far Away: Writers and Artists on Twenty-Five Years of Star Wars.

Erika received her B.A. from Grinnell College, and her M.A. in English Literature & Creative Writing from the University of Colorado at Boulder. She currently teaches at the Lighthouse Writers Workshop in Denver, Colorado, mentors for the Lighthouse Book Project, and works part time as a private investigator for Title IX and sexual assault cases.

She is the 2014 winner of the Lighthouse Beacon Award for teaching excellence. She is a recipient of scholarships to the Bread Loaf and Sewanee Writers' Conferences, and recently won a 2014-15 Amtrak Residency. She is currently working on a novel and a short story collection.

Erika Krouse's website

This bio was last updated on 09/05/2015. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Erika Krouse at BookBrowse
Come Up and See Me Sometime jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Erika Krouse but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 3 similar authors

View all 3 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join & Save $10!

Discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten. One-year membership: $29

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: One Night Two Souls Went Walking
    One Night Two Souls Went Walking
    by Ellen Cooney
    In One Night Two Souls Went Walking, we follow a young interfaith chaplain as she carries out her ...
  • Book Jacket: Truthtelling
    Truthtelling
    by Lynne Schwartz
    The word "unsayable" can mean something is too vast to be put into words. Alternatively, it can ...
  • Book Jacket: The Book Collectors
    The Book Collectors
    by Delphine Minoui
    About halfway through The Book Collectors, I was disappointed. I came into the book with a ...
  • Book Jacket: Blue Sky Kingdom
    Blue Sky Kingdom
    by Bruce Kirkby
    Who hasn't dreamed of escaping all of the trappings of today's modern life and finding a secluded, ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Smallest Lights in the Universe
    by Sara Seager

    A luminous memoir by an MIT astrophysicist who must reinvent herself in the wake of tragedy.

    Reader Reviews
Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Exiles
by Christina Baker Kline
The author of Orphan Train returns with an ambitious, emotionally resonant historical novel.
Win This Book!
Win Jack

Return to Gilead with Jack, the instant New York Times bestseller

Enter to win Marilynne Robinson's latest novel in her classic series.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I G I O Ear A O T O

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.