Stephen Ambrose biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Stephen Ambrose

Stephen Ambrose

Stephen Ambrose Biography

Stephen Ambrose was born in 1936 and grew up in Whitewater, Wisconsin.  He became a history professor known for his liberal views (for example he left a teaching job at Kansas State University in order to protest over a visit from Richard Nixon during the bombings of Laos and Cambodia.  He also spoke out against America's involvement in the Vietnam war.  However, he was largely unknown outside of academic circles until 1994 when he published 'D-Day' (published 50 years after D-Day itself).  His focus in this and future books was on the ordinary soldier.  In addition to his books about World War II, Ambrose wrote about many other aspects of American history. 

He was the author of numerous books of history, including the New York Times bestsellers Undaunted Courage and D-Day, as well as multi-volume biographies of Dwight D. Eisenhower and Richard Nixon. He also founded the Eisenhower Center and was President of the National D-Day Museum in New Orleans.   He lived in Bay St. Louis, Mississippi, and Helena, Montana.

Ambrose's film work included consulting roles on two Spielberg projects, 'Saving Private Ryan' and a documentary.  He also consulted on a mini series made for cable TV based on his bestselling book 'Band of Brothers'

He died in October 2002 at the age of 66.   His last book 'To America: Personal Reflections of an Historian' was published in November 2002.   Ambrose describes this as his love song to his country.  He started writing it after he was diagnosed with cancer - six months before his death.

When asked, Hugh Ambrose - the author's son, said that those who wanted to honor his father should 'take a moment to thank one of America's veterans.''

Ambrose is survived by his son, Hugh, his wife, Moira, his brothers Harry and Bill, and his children, Andy, Barry, Grace and Stephanie.



This bio was last updated on 09/19/2006. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Stephen Ambrose at BookBrowse
No End Save Victory jacket Nothing Like It In The World jacket The Victors jacket Citizen Soldiers jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Stephen Ambrose but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Stephen Ambrose

    Stephen Ambrose

    Stephen Ambrose was born in 1936 and grew up in Whitewater, Wisconsin.  He became a history professor known for his liberal views (for example he left a teaching job at Kansas State University in order to protest over ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Victors

    Try:
    No End Save Victory
    by Stephen Ambrose

  • Biyi Bandele

    Biyi Bandele

    Biyi Bandele was born in Nigeria in 1967. He has written plays for the Royal Court Theatre, the Royal Shakespeare Company, screenplays for the BBC and has had five novels published. He was Judith E. Wilson Fellow at Churchill... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    No End Save Victory

    Try:
    The King's Rifle
    by Biyi Bandele

We recommend 17 similar authors

View all 17 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Heavens
    The Heavens
    by Sandra Newman
    I've been a big fan of Sandra Newman's writing ever since reading her 2014 novel The Country of Ice ...
  • Book Jacket: Sugar Run
    Sugar Run
    by Mesha Maren
    Mesha Maren's debut novel is a plunge into the depths of the dark Southern gothic with pulsing and ...
  • Book Jacket: Code Name Lise
    Code Name Lise
    by Larry Loftis
    Odette Sansom (1912 – 1995), a Frenchwoman married to a British man and living in the English ...
  • Book Jacket: Watch Us Rise
    Watch Us Rise
    by Renee Watson, Ellen Hagen
    Jasmine and Chelsea are about to enter their junior year at New York City's progressive Amsterdam ...

Book Club
Book Jacket
The Half-Life of Everything
by Deborah Carol Gang

A beautifully written and uplifting debut novel.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    American Princess
    by Stephanie Marie Thornton

    Rated 4.9 stars by BookBrowse members - one of the highest scores of all time!
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Giveaway!
Win The Summer Country

Win up to 12 copies to share with friends or your book club!

A sweeping epic of lost love, lies, jealousy, and rebellion set in colonial Barbados.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

C I Next T G

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.