Mickey Pearlman biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Mickey Pearlman

Mickey Pearlman

Mickey Pearlman Biography

Mickey Pearlman was born in Miami Beach, Florida and has lived in New York, Vienna, Berlin, Tel Aviv and Prague.

Pearlman is the organizer of "A Celebration of Readers and Their Favorite Books," held annually at Mohonk Mountain House in upstate New York. She has taught memoir writing, the art of interviewing, and spoken about book clubs at many institutions and venues. Pearlman is a book reviewer for the Boston Globe, the Minneapolis Star Tribune, and The Forward.

Pearlman earned a BA and an MA in English from City College of New York, and a Master's in Philosophy and a Ph.D in English and American Literature from the City University of New York. She is a member of the National Book Critics Circle, and the Authors Guild. She lives in New Jersey.

From the author's website



This bio was last updated on 09/05/2015. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Mickey Pearlman at BookBrowse
What To Read jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Mickey Pearlman but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Victoria Golden

    Victoria Golden

    Co-author of A Last Survivor of the Orphan Trains, Victoria Golden earned a degree in sociology from the University of California, Los Angeles. A former public relations writer, editor, and book reviewer, she is the author of... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    What To Read

    Try:
    The Readers' Choice
    by Victoria Golden

  • Ellen Slezak

    Ellen Slezak

    Ellen Slezak's short fiction has been published in numerous literary journals including The Sun and the American Literary Review. She has been a finalist in the Iowa Short Fiction Awards and has twice been awarded fiction-... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    What To Read

    Try:
    The Book Group Book
    by Ellen Slezak

We recommend 2 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: And The Ocean Was Our Sky
    And The Ocean Was Our Sky
    by Patrick Ness
    Patrick Ness has developed a reputation for experimental literature executed well, and his latest, ...
  • Book Jacket: Let It Bang
    Let It Bang
    by RJ Young
    Every interracial love story is an exercise in complications. R.J. Young and Lizzie Stafford's ...
  • Book Jacket: A Spark of Light
    A Spark of Light
    by Jodi Picoult
    The central premise of A Spark of Light involves a gunman holding hostages within the confines of a ...
  • Book Jacket: An Absolutely Remarkable Thing
    An Absolutely Remarkable Thing
    by Hank Green
    As one half of the extremely popular YouTube duo "Vlogbrothers" (the other half being his brother ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Unsheltered
by Barbara Kingsolver

A timely novel that explores the human capacity for resiliency and compassion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    A Ladder to the Sky
    by John Boyne

    A seductive, unputdownable psychodrama following one brilliant, ruthless man.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Kinship of Secrets
    by Eugenia Kim

    Two sisters grow up bound by family but separated by war; inspired by a true story.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Severance

Severance by Ling Ma

An offbeat, wryly funny, apocalyptic satire that is featured on more than twenty 2018 "Must Read" lists!

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I Ain't O U T F L S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.