Mickey Pearlman biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Mickey Pearlman

Mickey Pearlman

Mickey Pearlman Biography

Mickey Pearlman was born in Miami Beach, Florida and has lived in New York, Vienna, Berlin, Tel Aviv and Prague.

Pearlman is the organizer of "A Celebration of Readers and Their Favorite Books," held annually at Mohonk Mountain House in upstate New York. She has taught memoir writing, the art of interviewing, and spoken about book clubs at many institutions and venues. Pearlman is a book reviewer for the Boston Globe, the Minneapolis Star Tribune, and The Forward.

Pearlman earned a BA and an MA in English from City College of New York, and a Master's in Philosophy and a Ph.D in English and American Literature from the City University of New York. She is a member of the National Book Critics Circle, and the Authors Guild. She lives in New Jersey.

From the author's website



This bio was last updated on 09/05/2015. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Mickey Pearlman at BookBrowse
What To Read jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Mickey Pearlman but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Victoria Golden McMains

    Victoria Golden McMains

    Combining her skills as a book reviewer and a veteran book group member, McMains provides brief, captivating profiles of a diverse mix of fiction and nonfiction. Since 1997, Victoria Golden McMains has chaired the Bay Area ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    What To Read

    Try:
    The Readers' Choice
    by Victoria Golden McMains

  • Ellen Slezak

    Ellen Slezak

    Ellen Slezak's short fiction has been published in numerous literary journals including The Sun and the American Literary Review. She has been a finalist in the Iowa Short Fiction Awards and has twice been awarded fiction-... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    What To Read

    Try:
    The Book Group Book
    by Ellen Slezak

We recommend 2 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Discover your next great read here

Join Today!

Editor's Choice


Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest
by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Manderley Forever
    by Tatiana de Rosnay

    Bestselling author Tatiana de Rosnay pays homage to Daphne du Maurier.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Stars Are Fire
    by Anita Shreve

    An exquisitely suspenseful novel about an extraordinary young woman tested by a catastrophic event.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

These are not books, lumps of lifeless paper, but minds alive on the shelves

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Y S M B, I'll S Y

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -