Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Terry Brooks biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Terry Brooks
Photo: From author website

Terry Brooks

Terry Brooks Biography

With over 12 million books in print, Terry Brooks has been a seminal force in fantasy fiction for the past twenty years. When his first book, The Sword of Shannara, was published in 1977, it earned Brooks a legion of fans and the novel made publishing history by becoming the first work of fiction to appear on the New York Times trade paperback bestseller list. Since then, Brooks has written twelve additional bestselling books. This year, Brooks is celebrating twenty years of continued success by taking his writing to a new level; Running with the Demon is a stunning contemporary fantasy, a page-turner with sleek, spare writing and a dark vision not found in his earlier work.

After twenty years writing epic adventure fantasy, Brooks is very excited about doing something so different. Set in Hopewell, a fictitious Midwestern town, Running with the Demon grew, in part, from Brooks' desire to write about his home town. "I wanted to write a fantasy that would say something about the nature of my childhood and what it was like growing

up in a small town, and about how magic exists for children," he explains. Terry Brooks was born in Sterling, Illinois in 1944, and spent the first 40 years of his life there; Sterling is the prototype for Hopewell, the setting of Running with the Demon. Brooks received an undergraduate degree in English Literature from Hamilton College in New York State, and a law degree from Washington & Lee University in Virginia. He practiced law for many years, working during the day and writing at night. He wrote his first four books on that schedule, leaving law to write full time in 1986.

Brooks explains his decision to become a writer by saying that "writing is a profession that chooses you. It catapults you directly into a twilight zone of compulsive behavior, and you write because you have to write. One choice you have is your subject matter. I write fantasy because it gives me a bigger canvas to paint on."

Terry Brooks is the author of thirteen previous bestselling titles, written in two wildly popular series, Shannara and Magic Kingdom.

Brooks and his wife Judine live in Seattle, along with a cat. They have a second home in Hawaii, where Brooks is active with the prestigious Maui Writer's Conference.

Terry Brooks's website

This bio was last updated on 03/26/2014. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

An interview with Terry Brooks in which he discusses his new fantasy series that begins with Armageddon's Children.

Question:  Ever since the 1997 publication of Running with the Demon, I've been fascinated by the implied connections between the present-day world of the Word and Void series and the far-future world of the Shannara books.  Now you're making those connections explicit for the first time.  How long have you been planning to write this new series, how many books will comprise it, and how long do you expect it to take you to complete?

Terry Brooks: This series could run as many as nine or ten books, and it will take at least that many years to complete it.  But I intend to break it down into three different time periods with different sets of characters so that a single storyline will conclude within three years of start up.  That's my plan just now, but it is subject to change without notice.

As for prior thought on this series, I haven't been thinking about it in explicit terms for all that long.  Only about two years.


Q: Can you talk about some of those connections without giving away any spoilers?  Did you always intend for the two series to be linked, or did you only gradually come to that realization?  How difficult has it been to mesh the ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Terry Brooks at BookBrowse
Bearers of the Black Staff jacket A Princess of Landover jacket The Gypsy Morph (The Genesis of Shannara, Book 3) jacket The Elves of Cintra jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Terry Brooks but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

  • Kenneth Calhoun

    Kenneth Calhoun

    Kenneth Calhoun has had stories published in The Paris Review, Tin House, and the 2011 Pen/O. Henry Prize Collection, among others. He lives in Boston, where he is a graphic design professor at Lasell College. (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Armageddon's Children

    Try:
    Black Moon
    by Kenneth Calhoun

  • Orson Scott Card

    Orson Scott Card

    Nobody had ever won the Hugo and Nebula awards for best novel two years in a row until Orson Scott Card received them for Ender's Game and its sequel, Speaker for the Dead, in 1986 and 1987. The third novel in the series, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Armageddon's Children

    Try:
    Ender's Shadow
    by Orson Scott Card

We recommend 11 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Bloodcarver
    The Last Bloodcarver
    by Vanessa Le
    The city-state of Theumas is a gleaming metropolis of advanced technology and innovation where the ...
  • Book Jacket: Say Hello to My Little Friend
    Say Hello to My Little Friend
    by Jennine CapĂł Crucet
    Twenty-year-old Ismael Reyes is making a living in Miami as an impersonator of the rapper/singer ...
  • Book Jacket: The Painter's Daughters
    The Painter's Daughters
    by Emily Howes
    Peggy and Molly Gainsborough are sisters and best friends, living an idyllic life in 18th-century ...
  • Book Jacket: Beverly Hills Spy
    Beverly Hills Spy
    by Ronald Drabkin
    When it comes to espionage, not only is truth stranger than fiction, sometimes it can be downright ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
A Great Country
by Shilpi Somaya Gowda
A novel exploring the ties and fractures of a close-knit Indian-American family in the aftermath of a violent encounter with the police.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

Who Said...

The longest journey of any person is the journey inward

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S B the B

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.