Simone Zelitch biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Simone Zelitch
Photo: Douglas Buchholz

Simone Zelitch

Simone Zelitch Biography

Simone Zelitch is a graduate from MFA program at the University of Michigan. She is the author of two acclaimed novels: The Confession of Jack Straw, winner of the Hopwood Award for Major Fiction and Louisa. Her new novel Judenstaat comes out in June 2016. She has taught at Community College of Philadelphia, University of the Arts, and the University of Pennsylvania's College of General Studies

Simone Zelitch's website

This bio was last updated on 01/10/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Simone Zelitch interviewed by John Coyne for PeaceCorpWriters.org, 2000.
Reprinted by the permission of Putnam Publishing.

Simone Zelitch (Peace Corp volunteer in Hungary 1991–92 ) is the author of The Confession of Jack Straw, published in 1991 by Black Heron Press. This novel won the University of Michigan’s Hopwood Award for Major Fiction. Next month Moses in Sinai will be published by Black Heron Press, and in September, G.P. Putnam will publish Louisa, a novel that draws upon her experiences as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Hungary. With two books coming out in 2000, we decided to interview Simone about how her Peace Corps experience influenced her novels.

The topics of your novels are wide and diverse. What draws you to the subject matter?
It’s hard to generalize. If I was going to name something that my three novels have in common, it would probably be “revolution betrayed.” It's an old story. Peasants storm London, and within the week, their king breaks every promise, and the heads of their leaders are piked on London Bridge. Moses leads the Hebrews out of Egypt, only to create a ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Simone Zelitch at BookBrowse
Louisa jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Simone Zelitch but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Carole Cadwalladr

    Carole Cadwalladr

    Carole Cadwalladr is a British author. Her first novel, The Family Tree, was shortlisted for the 2006 Commonwealth Writers' Prize, the Author's Club First Novel Award, theWaverton Good Read Award, and the Wales Book of the ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Louisa

    Try:
    The Family Tree
    by Carole Cadwalladr

  • Author Image Not Available

    Gwen Edelman

    Gwen Edelman is an American who lives in Paris. War Story is her first novel. (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Louisa

    Try:
    War Story
    by Gwen Edelman

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Discover your next great read here

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Music of the Ghosts
    Music of the Ghosts
    by Vaddey Ratner
    Music of the Ghosts is about healing and forgiveness, but it is also about identity and the revival ...
  • Book Jacket: Castle of Water
    Castle of Water
    by Dane Huckelbridge
    When a whopping 24 out of 27 readers give a book 4 or 5 stars, you know you have a winner on your ...
  • Book Jacket: Havana
    Havana
    by Mark Kurlansky
    History with flavor...culture with spice...language with gusto...it would be hard to find a better ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest
by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    If We Were Villains
    by M. L. Rio

    An intelligent and captivating story of the enduring power and passion of words.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Manderley Forever
    by Tatiana de Rosnay

    Bestselling author Tatiana de Rosnay pays homage to Daphne du Maurier.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

Some books are to be tasted, others to be swallowed, and some to be chewed on and digested.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Y S M B, I'll S Y

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -