Joy Fielding biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Joy Fielding

Joy Fielding

Joy Fielding Biography

Joy Fielding submitted her first story to Jack and Jill when she was eight years old, and the story was rejected. At twelve, she wrote her first TV script, the story of a twelve-year-old girl who murders her parents. Like the magazine story, it, too was rejected, but the thought of it caused her parents many a sleepless night. In her last year of high school her English teacher announced to the class that Joy Fielding was going to be a writer, though she hadn't decided that yet for herself.

At the University of Toronto, Fielding decided she wanted to be an actress. She performed in numerous campus productions and starred in the student movie, "Winter Kept Us Warm", a fixture on the art house circuit even today. After she graduated from the University of Toronto in 1966, with a BA in English literature, she went into acting full-time, moving to Los Angeles, where she acted in an episode of Gunsmoke and got to kiss Elvis Presley. Eventually she returned to Toronto and went back to writing.

Fielding is an avid golfer and the mother of two adult daughters. She is a Canadian citizen and divides her time between Toronto and Palm Beach, Florida.

Her works include The Best of Friends (1972), The Transformation (1976), Kiss Mommy Goodbye (1981), The Other Woman (1983), See Jane Run (1991), Tell Me No Secrets (1993), Don't Cry Now (1995), Grand Avenue (2001), Whispers and Lies (2002), Mad River Road (2006), Still Life (2009), Now You See Her (2011) and Shadow Creek (2012).

Joy Fielding's website

This bio was last updated on 01/01/2015. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

A Discussion with Joy Fielding

The First Time moves back and forth between three points of view, Mattie, Kim, and Jake. Why did you create three perspectives? Was it difficult to create Jake's point of view?
This is the first time in a long while that I've told a story from several different perspectives, and the first time ever that I've attempted to speak with a man's voice. My readers know that I don't like to repeat myself, that I make a conscious effort to do something a little different with each book, that I like to experiment with different styles. It was fun watching this complex story unfold through the eyes of three different people, to try to convey the wide variety of emotions each is feeling, to make the reader understand and care about all of them.

Surprisingly, writing from the male perspective wasn't as difficult as I thought it might be. I just thought of the various men in my life, husband, friends, relatives, and tried to imagine how they might think and react in similar circumstances, remembering how they had reacted in other situations and expanding on that.

The teenage daughter Kim…is she based on your own daughter? Why did a teenage character play such a major role in ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Joy Fielding at BookBrowse
Someone Is Watching jacket Now You See Her jacket The Wild Zone jacket Charley's Web jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Joy Fielding but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Julia Glass

    Julia Glass

    Julia Glass is the author of Three Junes, winner of the 2002 National Book Award for Fiction; The Whole World Over; I See You Everywhere, winner of the 2009 Binghamton University John Gardner Book Award; and The Widower's ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The First Time

    Try:
    Three Junes
    by Julia Glass

  • Rohinton Mistry

    Rohinton Mistry

    Rohinton Mistry was born in Bombay, India in 1952, of Parsi descent. He earned a B.A. in Mathematics and Economics at the University of Bombay. In 1975, at the age of 23, he immigrated to Canada where he studied at the ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The First Time

    Try:
    A Fine Balance
    by Rohinton Mistry

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    In the Country of Men
    by Hisham Matar
    Labeled by some as the "Libyan Kite Runner", In The Country of Men does share some ...
  • Book Jacket: Holding Up the Universe
    Holding Up the Universe
    by Jennifer Niven
    Jennifer Niven's spectacular Holding Up the Universe has everything that I love about Young ...
  • Book Jacket: Coffin Road
    Coffin Road
    by Peter May
    From its richly atmospheric opening to its dramatic conclusion, Peter May's Coffin Road is a ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Win this book!
Win All the Gallant Men

All The Gallant Men

The first memoir by a USS Arizona survivor, 75 years after Pearl Harbor.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

K Y Eyes P

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.