Vincent Lardo biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Vincent Lardo

Vincent Lardo

Vincent Lardo Biography

Vincent Lardo began his writing career moonlighting as a budding novelist. His first effort, China House, was published by Alyson of Boston in 1983 and did well enough for Alyson to publish his next novel, The Prince and the Pretender. A third for Alyson, The Mask of Narcissus, introduced Mike Manning, investigative reporter, and was the most popular in the Alyson series.

After three novels, Lardo turned from part time to full time novelist and left his native New York City to live permanently in his beach house in Amagansett. This resulted in his first 'Hampton' mystery, The Hampton Affair, published by Putnam. It was well received by both reviewers and readers, sparking his second 'Hampton' mystery, The Hampton Connection.

At this time Lardo's editor at Putnam noted a similarity between Lardo's droll humor and acerbic wit and that of the late best selling author Lawrence Sanders. Looking for a writer to continue Sander's popular Archy McNally series, Putnam contracted Lardo as Sanders' successor. McNally’s Dilemma, Lardo's first in the series, was an instant best seller and Lardo and Archy were off and running. Five more McNallys followed, all of which were New York Times best sellers.

Vincent Lardo's website

This bio was last updated on 10/02/2013. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Vincent Lardo at BookBrowse
McNally's Dilemma jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Vincent Lardo but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Tim Cockey

    Tim Cockey

    Tim Cockey grew up in and around Baltimore, Maryland. Educated in Ohio, London and Copenhagen, he later returned to Baltimore where he worked with a local newspaper in advertising sales and design while moonlighting under a ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    McNally's Dilemma

    Try:
    Murder in the Hearse Degree
    by Tim Cockey

  • Marshall Karp

    Marshall Karp

    Marshall Karp's writing career has spanned a wide range of fields, from advertising and marketing to television, screen, and stage. He is the author of the play Squabbles and the screenwriter for the 2000 film Just ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    McNally's Dilemma

    Try:
    The Rabbit Factory
    by Marshall Karp

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Discover your next great read here

Join Today!

Editor's Choice


Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest
by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Manderley Forever
    by Tatiana de Rosnay

    Bestselling author Tatiana de Rosnay pays homage to Daphne du Maurier.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    No One Is Coming to Save Us
    by Stephanie Powell Watts

    One of Entertainment Weekly, Nylon and Elle's most anticipated books of 2017.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

He has only half learned the art of reading who has not added to it the more refined art of skipping and skimming.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Y S M B, I'll S Y

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -