Vincent Lardo biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Vincent Lardo

Vincent Lardo

Vincent Lardo Biography

Vincent Lardo began his writing career moonlighting as a budding novelist. His first effort, China House, was published by Alyson of Boston in 1983 and did well enough for Alyson to publish his next novel, The Prince and the Pretender. A third for Alyson, The Mask of Narcissus, introduced Mike Manning, investigative reporter, and was the most popular in the Alyson series.

After three novels, Lardo turned from part time to full time novelist and left his native New York City to live permanently in his beach house in Amagansett. This resulted in his first 'Hampton' mystery, The Hampton Affair, published by Putnam. It was well received by both reviewers and readers, sparking his second 'Hampton' mystery, The Hampton Connection.

At this time Lardo's editor at Putnam noted a similarity between Lardo's droll humor and acerbic wit and that of the late best selling author Lawrence Sanders. Looking for a writer to continue Sander's popular Archy McNally series, Putnam contracted Lardo as Sanders' successor. McNally’s Dilemma, Lardo's first in the series, was an instant best seller and Lardo and Archy were off and running. Five more McNallys followed, all of which were New York Times best sellers.

Vincent Lardo's website

This bio was last updated on 09/30/2017. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Vincent Lardo at BookBrowse
McNally's Dilemma jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Vincent Lardo but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Tim Cockey

    Tim Cockey

    Tim Cockey grew up in and around Baltimore, Maryland. Educated in Ohio, London and Copenhagen, he later returned to Baltimore where he worked with a local newspaper in advertising sales and design while moonlighting under a ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    McNally's Dilemma

    Try:
    Murder in the Hearse Degree
    by Tim Cockey

  • Marshall Karp

    Marshall Karp

    Marshall Karp's writing career has spanned a wide range of fields, from advertising and marketing to television, screen, and stage. He is the author of the play Squabbles and the screenwriter for the 2000 film Just ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    McNally's Dilemma

    Try:
    The Rabbit Factory
    by Marshall Karp

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: To Be a Man
    To Be a Man
    by Nicole Krauss
    While, as its title hints, To Be a Man by Nicole Krauss is concerned with masculinity, it renders a ...
  • Book Jacket: The Office of Historical Corrections
    The Office of Historical Corrections
    by Danielle Evans
    In The Office of Historical Corrections, the second story collection from Danielle Evans, readers ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    The Dutch House is my introduction to Ann Patchett, which, after reading it, surprises me. I had ...

  • Book Jacket: Nights When Nothing Happened
    Nights When Nothing Happened
    by Simon Han
    A quiet atmosphere of dread permeates Simon Han's subdued debut novel Nights When Nothing Happened. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    At the Edge of the Haight
    by Katherine Seligman

    Winner of the 2019 PEN/Bellwether Prize for Socially Engaged Fiction.

    Reader Reviews
  • Book Jacket

    The Fortunate Ones
    by Ed Tarkington

    An engrossing story of class, love, and loyalty for fans of Kevin Wilson's Nothing to See Here.

    Reader Reviews
Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Moment of Lift
by Melinda Gates
How can we summon a moment of lift for women? Because when you lift up women, you lift up humanity.
Who Said...

There are two kinds of light - the glow that illuminates, and the glare that obscures.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T M T C, T M T Stay T S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.