Delia Ephron biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Delia Ephron

Delia Ephron

How to pronounce Delia Ephron: Deelia EF-ruhn

Delia Ephron Biography

Delia Ephron, author and screenwriter, has written many books for children and adults, including Hanging Up, Big City Eyes , and The Girl Who Changed the World. Her film work as a writer and producer includes the movie Hanging Up, as well as You've Got Mail, The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, and Michael. She lives in New York City.

Delia Ephron's website

This bio was last updated on 03/26/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Delia Ephron shares intriguing details about the development of Big City Eyes -- and what do Klingons have to do with it?!

What inspired you to write this novel?
The Log column in the local East Hampton newspaper. I visited friends in the Hamptons and got hooked on it. This column lists incidents that have been reported to the police--things like "three geraniums disappeared off my porch." I loved the innocence of the crimes, and the idea that crimes could be innocent. I began to think: suppose a woman is a crime reporter in a place where there are no serious crimes. Then something big happens. Would people believe it? This was the germ of the idea for this book. I also began to think of all of the things that I'm interested in. Divorce and its effect on children is one of them. I like to write about things that people find terribly sad, find the humor in it, and make people laugh and cry.

Lily argues, "Divorce is the destruction of childhood." Is she speaking in your voice?
Well, I am not Lily, but she has concerns and interests that I share. I am a stepmother, not a single mother. However, I have seen how my stepchildren have been affected by divorce. I have written nonfiction about divorced kids and have interviewed a lot of these kids. I have seen the anger and hurt. Parents have to get divorced with blinders on to some ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Delia Ephron at BookBrowse
Siracusa jacket Sister Mother Husband Dog jacket The Lion is In jacket The Girl with the Mermaid Hair jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Delia Ephron but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Jeanne Braselton

    Jeanne Braselton

    Jeanne Braselton was born and raised in Georgia. She was the adopted daughter of a poet who was designated chief of the Cherokee Nation. While working as a journalist for the Rome News Tribune, she won numerous Georgia Press ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Big City Eyes

    Try:
    A False Sense of Well Being
    by Jeanne Braselton

  • Dayna Dunbar

    Dayna Dunbar

    Dayna Dunbar is a native Oklahoman who currently makes her home in Santa Monica, CA. She grew up in Yukon, a tightly knit farming and grain-milling town in Oklahoma, where most folks were relatives or family friends. This ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Big City Eyes

    Try:
    The Saints and Sinners of Okay County
    by Dayna Dunbar

We recommend 3 similar authors

View all 3 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free

Discover books that
entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Blizzard Party
    The Blizzard Party
    by Jack Livings
    It is 1978 and the place is New York City. A massive bacchanalian party is taking place at an Upper ...
  • Book Jacket: The Light of Days
    The Light of Days
    by Judy Batalion
    Renia, Sarah, Zivia, Frumka, Hantze, Tosia, Vladka, Chajka, Gusta, Hela, Bela, Lonka, Tema, Chasia, ...
  • Book Jacket: Hummingbird Salamander
    Hummingbird Salamander
    by Jeff VanderMeer
    In Hummingbird Salamander, Jeff VanderMeer weaves cybersecurity, bioterrorism, wildlife trafficking ...
  • Book Jacket: The Women of Chateau Lafayette
    The Women of Chateau Lafayette
    by Stephanie Dray
    The Women of Chateau Lafayette, Stephanie Dray's latest work of historical fiction, revolves around ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Funny Thing About Norman Foreman
    by Julietta Henderson

    A charming, uplifting debut about a mother and her 12-year-old son, an aspiring comedian.

    Reader Reviews
  • Book Jacket

    Of Women and Salt
    by Gabriela Garcia

    A kaleidoscopic portrait of generations of women from a 19th-century Cuban cigar factory to the present day.

    Reader Reviews
Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Miss Austen
by Gill Hornby
A witty, poignant novel about Cassandra Austen and her famous sister, Jane.
Win This Book!
Win The Beauty of Your Face

A New York Times Notable Book of 2020

"Stunning.… A timely family saga with faith and forgiveness at its core."
Marie Claire

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

It's N S O M N

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.