Fay Weldon biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Fay Weldon
Photo: Ian Jones

Fay Weldon

Fay Weldon Biography

English novelist and writer Weldon Fay, was born on 22nd September 1939 in Birmingham, UK. Her work tends to have strong feminist themes. Her grandfather, Edgar Jepson and her mother, Margaret were both writers. She studied at university in Scotland and returned to England after giving birth to a son. After afterwards she married Ronald Bateman who she left after two years of marriage. In order to support her son Weldon started working in advertising industry.

She later married Ron Weldon, and during her second pregnancy she began to write for radio and television. In 1967 she published her first novel, The Fat Woman's Joke, after that the next 30 years turned out to be very successful for her. She published over 20 novels, collections of short stories, films for television, newspaper and magazine articles. She also wrote the first episode of the landmark TV series "Upstairs, Downstairs", for which she won a Writer's Guild award for Best British TV Series Script.

Ron Weldon and Fay were divorced in the year 1994. She is currently married to Nick Fox who is also her manager. In 2006 Weldon was appointed Professor for Creative writing at Brunel University in West London. Then later in 2012, again she was appointed as a Creative Writing professor as Bath Spa University.


Partial Bibliography
  • The Fat Woman's Joke (1967)
  • Down Among the Women (1971)
  • Female Friends (1975)
  • Remember Me (1976)
  • Little Sisters (1977)
  • Weekend (1978)
  • Praxis (1978)
  • Puffball (1980)
  • The President's Child (1982)
  • The Life and Loves of a She-Devil (1983)
  • Letters to Alice: On First Reading Jane Austen (1984)
  • The Shrapnel Academy (1986)
  • The Rules of Life (1987)
  • The Heart of the Country (1987)
  • The Hearts and Lives of Men (1987)
  • Leader of the Band (1988)
  • The Cloning of Joanna May (1989)
  • Darcy's Utopia (1990)
  • Trouble (1993)
  • Affliction (1994)
  • Growing Rich (1992)
  • Life Force (1992)
  • Splitting (1995)
  • Worst Fears (1996)
  • Big Women (1997)
  • My Mother Said (1998)
  • Godless in Eden (1999)
  • Rhode Island Blues (2000)
  • The Bulgari Connection (2001)
  • Mantrapped (2004)
  • She May Not Leave (2006)
  • What Makes Women Happy (2006)
  • The Spa Decameron (2007)
  • The Stepmother's Diary (2008)
  • Chalcot Crescent (2009)
  • Kehua! (2010)
  • Habits of the House (2012)
  • Long Live the King (2013)
  • The New Countess (2013)
  • Mischief (2015)

Fay Weldon's website

This bio was last updated on 01/08/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Fay Weldon at BookBrowse
Before the War jacket Habits of the House jacket Chalcot Crescent jacket What Makes Women Happy jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Fay Weldon but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Jo Baker

    Jo Baker

    Jo Baker was born in Lancashire and educated in Oxford and Belfast. The Undertow is her first publication in the United States. She is the author of three previous novels published in the United Kingdom: Offcomer, The Mermaid... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Habits of the House

    Try:
    Longbourn
    by Jo Baker

  • Cheryl Benard

    Cheryl Benard

    Dr. Cheryl Benard has worked as an analyst for European and American think tanks. She is a researcher with the RAND Corporation. She received her B.A. in political science from the American University of Beirut and her PhD ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Big Girls Don't Cry

    Try:
    Turning On The Girls
    by Cheryl Benard

We recommend 10 similar authors

View all 10 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Pianist from Syria
    The Pianist from Syria
    by Aeham Ahmad
    Ahmad and his PianoAeham Ahmad became famous as the face of Syrian suffering when a photo of him playing piano in the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Smiling Man
    The Smiling Man
    by Joseph Knox
    Joseph Knox's latest turns on a simple premise: an unidentified and unidentifiable murdered man is ...
  • Book Jacket: The Heavens
    The Heavens
    by Sandra Newman
    I've been a big fan of Sandra Newman's writing ever since reading her 2014 novel The Country of Ice ...
  • Book Jacket: Sugar Run
    Sugar Run
    by Mesha Maren
    Mesha Maren's debut novel is a plunge into the depths of the dark Southern gothic with pulsing and ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Last Year of the War
    by Susan Meissner

    A little-known story of WWII with great resonance for our times.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    American Princess
    by Stephanie Marie Thornton

    Rated 4.9 stars by BookBrowse members - one of the highest scores of all time!
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Girls Burn Brighter
by Shobha Rao

An extraordinary and heart-rending tale of two girls with all the odds against them.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Book Club Giveaway!
Win The Summer Country

Win up to 12 copies to share with friends or your book club!

A sweeping epic of lost love, lies, jealousy, and rebellion set in colonial Barbados.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D T T! Full S A!

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.