Fay Weldon biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Fay Weldon
Photo: Ian Jones

Fay Weldon

Fay Weldon Biography

English novelist and writer Weldon Fay, was born on 22nd September 1939 in Birmingham, UK. Her work tends to have strong feminist themes. Her grandfather, Edgar Jepson and her mother, Margaret were both writers. She studied at university in Scotland and returned to England after giving birth to a son. After afterwards she married Ronald Bateman who she left after two years of marriage. In order to support her son Weldon started working in advertising industry.

She later married Ron Weldon, and during her second pregnancy she began to write for radio and television. In 1967 she published her first novel, The Fat Woman's Joke, after that the next 30 years turned out to be very successful for her. She published over 20 novels, collections of short stories, films for television, newspaper and magazine articles. She also wrote the first episode of the landmark TV series "Upstairs, Downstairs", for which she won a Writer's Guild award for Best British TV Series Script.

Ron Weldon and Fay were divorced in the year 1994. She is currently married to Nick Fox who is also her manager. In 2006 Weldon was appointed Professor for Creative writing at Brunel University in West London. Then later in 2012, again she was appointed as a Creative Writing professor as Bath Spa University.


Partial Bibliography
  • The Fat Woman's Joke (1967)
  • Down Among the Women (1971)
  • Female Friends (1975)
  • Remember Me (1976)
  • Little Sisters (1977)
  • Weekend (1978)
  • Praxis (1978)
  • Puffball (1980)
  • The President's Child (1982)
  • The Life and Loves of a She-Devil (1983)
  • Letters to Alice: On First Reading Jane Austen (1984)
  • The Shrapnel Academy (1986)
  • The Rules of Life (1987)
  • The Heart of the Country (1987)
  • The Hearts and Lives of Men (1987)
  • Leader of the Band (1988)
  • The Cloning of Joanna May (1989)
  • Darcy's Utopia (1990)
  • Trouble (1993)
  • Affliction (1994)
  • Growing Rich (1992)
  • Life Force (1992)
  • Splitting (1995)
  • Worst Fears (1996)
  • Big Women (1997)
  • My Mother Said (1998)
  • Godless in Eden (1999)
  • Rhode Island Blues (2000)
  • The Bulgari Connection (2001)
  • Mantrapped (2004)
  • She May Not Leave (2006)
  • What Makes Women Happy (2006)
  • The Spa Decameron (2007)
  • The Stepmother's Diary (2008)
  • Chalcot Crescent (2009)
  • Kehua! (2010)
  • Habits of the House (2012)
  • Long Live the King (2013)
  • The New Countess (2013)
  • Mischief (2015)

Fay Weldon's website

This bio was last updated on 01/08/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Fay Weldon at BookBrowse
Before the War jacket Habits of the House jacket Chalcot Crescent jacket What Makes Women Happy jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Fay Weldon but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Jo Baker

    Jo Baker

    Jo Baker was born in Lancashire and educated in Oxford and Belfast. The Undertow is her first publication in the United States. She is the author of three previous novels published in the United Kingdom: Offcomer, The Mermaid... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Habits of the House

    Try:
    Longbourn
    by Jo Baker

  • Cheryl Benard

    Cheryl Benard

    Dr. Cheryl Benard has worked as an analyst for European and American think tanks. She is a researcher with the RAND Corporation. She received her B.A. in political science from the American University of Beirut and her PhD ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Big Girls Don't Cry

    Try:
    Turning On The Girls
    by Cheryl Benard

We recommend 10 similar authors

View all 10 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Good Me Bad Me
    Good Me Bad Me
    by Ali Land
    Is a psychopath born or made? This is the terrifying question that author Ali Land explores in her ...
  • Book Jacket: Five-Carat Soul
    Five-Carat Soul
    by James McBride
    In the short story "Sonny's Blues," from the 1965 collection Going to Meet the Man, African-...
  • Book Jacket: This Blessed Earth
    This Blessed Earth
    by Ted Genoways
    For the Hammonds, a farming family in Nebraska, the 2014 harvest season started with a perfect storm...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Being Mortal by Atul Gawande

An eye-opening and riveting look at how how medicine can not only improve life but also the process of its ending.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Seven Days of Us
    by Francesca Hornak

    A warm, wry debut novel about a family forced to spend a week together over the holidays.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Wisdom of Sundays

The Wisdom of Sundays
by Oprah Winfrey

Life-changing insights from super soul conversations.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A Good M I H T F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.