Robert Harris biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Robert Harris

Robert Harris

Robert Harris Biography

Robert Harris, the son of a printer, was brought up in Nottingham, England. He has been a television correspondent with the BBC and a newspaper columnist for the London Sunday Times and The Daily Telegraph. His novels have sold more than ten million copies and been translated into thirty languages. He lives in Berkshire, England, with his wife and four children.

He got started as a writer of books when he won a contract to write a biography of John le Carré; but le Carré said the book could not be published until his death, so Harris started roughing out a novel exploring what would have happened if the Nazis had won the war.

He sent a few chapters to his American agent and didn't hear from him for two weeks. Then a call came through to tell him that there was to be an auction with 12 publishers involved. Harris says, "The American rights went through the roof, hardback about half a million, I think, and paperback more than a million. So that solved the mortgage problem and we moved to the country in 1993 and lived happily ever after."

His preferred method for laying out the plot of his books is to lay hundreds of index cards across a snooker table. He says, "From the age of 13 or 14 I wanted to write about [politics], because to say simply that politicians are crooks or that politics is boring is to miss one of the fundamental dramas of life. Politics has such fantastic elements to it – ambition, power, obsession, soaring idealism and cynical betrayal." His interest in politics started young - he claims that his first school essay, written when he was six was entitled, "Why me and my dad don't like Sir Alec Douglas-Home" (Douglas-Home was Conservative Prime Minister from 1963-64).

When asked why he didn't go into politics himself he replies, "Well, because I think by temperament I'm an observer and I don't really like giving orders or bossing people about. To go and do the daily round of politics would be deadly for me. I'm not very good with bores and I'm hopeless with faces and names - I once introduced Gill [his wife] as Elizabeth! And I am a writer naturally and always wanted to be. At eight, nine, 10, I was inventing fake newspapers and I've always just wanted to earn my living by writing. The best thing is to go into my study in the morning and stay there and put words together."

He says that he reads very little fiction, and when he does he tends to revisit old favorites such as Greene, Conrad, Orwell and Waugh. He particularly hates "literary" novels and that people who claim to like them are victims of snobbery - "It must be good if it's difficult. Oldest con trick in the world!"

Novels
Fatherland (1992)
Enigma (1995)
Archangel (1998)
Pompeii (2003)
Imperium (2006)
The Ghost (2007)
The Fear Index (2011)
The Officer and a Spy (2013)
Dictator (2015)
Conclave (2016)

Non-Fiction
A Higher Form of Killing: The Secret Story of Gas and Germ Warfare (1982, with Jeremy Paxman)
Gotcha! The Government, the Media and the Falklands Crisis (1983)
The Making of Neil Kinnock (1984)
Selling Hitler: The Story of the Hitler Diaries (1986)
Good and Faithful Servant: Unauthorized Biography of Bernard Ingham (1990)



This bio was last updated on 07/03/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Robert Harris at BookBrowse
Conclave jacket Dictator jacket An Officer and a Spy jacket Conspirata jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Robert Harris but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Bernard Cornwell

    Bernard Cornwell

    Bernard Cornwell was born (in 1944) and brought up in Britain, where he worked in the British Broadcasting Centre (BBC), ending up as Head of Current Affairs TV for the BBC in Northern Ireland. While working in Belfast... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Pompeii

    Try:
    Heretic
    by Bernard Cornwell

  • Martin Cruz Smith

    Martin Cruz Smith

    Martin Cruz Smith was born in Pennsylvania in 1942. He is an American mystery novelist. He earned a B.A. in Creative Writing from the University of Pennsylvania in 1964.

    Cruz Smith first burst onto the literary landscape with... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Archangel

    Try:
    Havana Bay
    by Martin Cruz Smith

We recommend 24 similar authors

View all 24 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: All We Have Left
    All We Have Left
    by Wendy Mills
    September 11, 2001 is a date that few Americans will ever forget. It was on this day that our ...
  • Book Jacket: A Great Reckoning
    A Great Reckoning
    by Louise Penny
    Canadian author Louise Penny is back with her twelfth entry in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache ...
  • Book Jacket: Homegoing
    Homegoing
    by Yaa Gyasi
    It's all very well to challenge people to be the masters of their own destiny, but when you&#...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Who Said...

Not doing more than the average is what keeps the average down.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay:
$400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.