Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Michael Thompson Ph.D. biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Michael Thompson Ph.D.
Photo: michaelthompson-phd.com

Michael Thompson Ph.D.

Michael Thompson Ph.D. Biography

Michael G. Thompson is an author, psychologist, school consultant, specializing in children and parenting. He is the author or co-author of nine books, including the New York Times bestseller, Raising Cain: Protecting the Emotional Life of Boys, Speaking of Boys: Answers to the Most-Asked Questions about Raising Sons and Best Friends, Worst Enemies: Understanding the Social Lives of Children. His newest book, Homesick and Happy: How Time Away From Parents Can Help a Child Grow, was published by Ballantine Books in May of 2012.

A dedicated speaker and traveler, Dr. Thompson has spoken at or consulted to more than 500 schools in the U.S. and abroad. He has appeared on the Today Show, the Oprah Winfrey Show, 20/20 and 60 Minutes. He was the co-author, host and narrator of a two-hour PBS documentary entitled Raising Cain: Focus on Boys. He is married to Dr. Theresa McNally, a psychotherapist, and is the father of two grown children and the grandfather of two granddaughters.
From the author's website

Michael Thompson Ph.D.'s website

This bio was last updated on 01/07/2016. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

An in-depth interview with Michael Thompson and Dan Kindlon as they discuss the three events that contributed to the genesis of Raising Cain and the book’s in-depth look at the psychology of boys and their emotional development.

In your introduction you say that a catalyst for writing the book was your desire to help people see beyond the surface of boys' lives to the often overlooked richness and complexity of their inner lives. What else contributed to the genesis of this work?
Three factors come to mind. My wife and I were at brunch with a woman friend of ours who is in publishing, and we were talking about the popularity of Mary Pipher's book on adolescent girls, Reviving Ophelia. At that time I had this nebulous book idea, one born of my years of studying and talking to an array of boys with an array of issues. Our conversation turned to the idea of a Reviving Ophelia for boys. What would define a book on male adolescents? What preconceptions and misconceptions about them deserved scrutiny and challenging? My wife, a therapist as well, thought that such a book was really needed, and encouraged the project.

The second catalyzing event involved conversations that I had had with Michael Thompson, who is at Belmont Hill, a boys' school comparable to the one at which I work, St. Sebastian's. We spoke at length about the kind ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Michael Thompson Ph.D. at BookBrowse
Raising Cain jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Michael Thompson Ph.D. but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

  • Drs. Brooks & Goldstein

    Drs. Brooks & Goldstein

    Robert Brooks, Ph.D., is on the faculty of Harvard Medical School and has served as Director of the Department of Psychology at McLean Hospital. He is one of today's leading speakers on the themes of resilience, self-... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Raising Cain

    Try:
    Raising Resilient Children
    by Drs. Brooks & Goldstein

  • William S. Pollack, Ph.D.

    William S. Pollack, Ph.D.

    William S. Pollack, Ph.D. is the Director of the Centers for Men and Young Men and the Director of Continuing Education (Psychology) at McLean Hospital; and is Assistant Clinical Professor (Psychology) in the Department of ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Raising Cain

    Try:
    Real Boys' Voices
    by William S. Pollack, Ph.D.

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Read-Alikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Real Americans
    Real Americans
    by Rachel Khong
    Rachel Khong's sophomore novel Real Americans is an intergenerational saga that questions racial and...
  • Book Jacket: A Short Walk Through a Wide World
    A Short Walk Through a Wide World
    by Douglas Westerbeke
    From the very first page of A Short Walk Through a Wide World, debut novelist (and librarian!) ...
  • Book Jacket: The Swans of Harlem
    The Swans of Harlem
    by Karen Valby
    Journalist Karen Valby's first book, The Swans of Harlem, introduces readers to the little-known ...
  • Book Jacket: The Sicilian Inheritance
    The Sicilian Inheritance
    by Jo Piazza
    Sara Marsala is going through a rough patch, to say the least. In the process of divorcing from her ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Long After We Are Gone
by Terah Shelton Harris
After their father's death, four siblings rally to save their family home in this gripping and hopeful tale.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    This Strange Eventful History
    by Claire Messud

    An immersive, masterful story of a family born on the wrong side of history.

Who Said...

Asking a working writer what he thinks about critics...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

R is a D B S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.