Bob Woodward biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Bob Woodward
Photograph: Lisa Berg

Bob Woodward

Bob Woodward Biography

Robert Upshur Woodward, known as Bob, was born in March 1943 in Geneva, Illinois.  He studied history and English literature at Yale, receiving his B.A. in 1965, after which he spent four years as a Naval officer.  He was discharged as a Lieutenant in 1970 after serving as an aide to the Chief of Naval Operations, Admiral Thomas H Moorer.  He was hired by The Washington Post but was let go after his two-week trial because he lacked any experience as a journalist.  After a year working for the Montgomery Sentinel, he reapplied to The Washington Post and was given a job in August 1971.  Less than a year, later Woodward and Carl Bernstein were assigned to investigate the burglary of the headquarters of the Democratic National Committee in a Washington D.C. hotel called Watergate, which led to them uncovering various "dirty tricks" used by Nixon's re-election committee.  The resulting book, All The President's Men, became a bestseller, and the movie staring Robert Redford as Woodward and Dustin Hoffman as Bernstein turned them into celebrities.  The facts revealed in the book also directly contributed to Nixon's impeachment. 

Since then, Woodward has continued to write books and work for The Washington Post, where he is now an associate editor.  Woodward sees his books as "self portraits"; he says, "I go to people and I say — I check them and I double check them but — but who are you? What are you doing? Where do you fit in? What did you say? What did you feel?"

He lives in the Georgetown section of Washington and is married to Elsa Walsh, who writes for The New Yorker; they have two daughters.


Bibliography

  • All the President's Men (1974, Watergate) 55-3
  • The Final Days (1976, Nixon's resignation)
  • The Brethren (1979, about the Supreme Court)
  • Wired (1985, John Belushi and the dark side of Hollywood's drug culture)
  • Veil (1987, about the CIA)
  • The Commanders (1991, the first two years of George H.W. Bush's presidency)
  • The Agenda (1994, the first 18 months of Clinton's presidency)
  • The Choice (1996, Bob Dole & Clinton's re-election bid)
  • Shadow (1999, the legacy of Watergate and the scandals that later administrations have faced)
  • Maestro (2000, Federal Reserve Chairman Alan Greenspan)
  • Bush at War (2002, the path from 9/11 to war with Afghanistan)
  • Plan of Attack (2005, the path to war with Iraq)
  • The Secret Man (2005, Mark Felt's disclosure that he was Deep Throat)
  • State of Denial (2007, an overview of the G.W. Bush presidency to 2006)
  • The War Within: A Secret White House History (2006-2008); (2008)
  • Obama's Wars (2010)

Bob Woodward's website

This bio was last updated on 06/26/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Bob Woodward at BookBrowse
The War Within jacket State of Denial jacket The Secret Man jacket Maestro jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Bob Woodward but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Madeleine Albright

    Madeleine Albright

    Madeleine Korbel was born on May 15, 1937 in Prague, Czechoslovakia. Her father, Josef Korbel, was a member of the Czech diplomatic service who worked in Belgrade, London, and Prague before he fled with his family after a ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Maestro

    Try:
    Madam Secretary
    by Madeleine Albright

  • Hillary Rodham Clinton

    Hillary Rodham Clinton

    Hillary Rodham Clinton was elected to the U.S. Senate from New York in 2000 and was appointed Secretary of State in 2009. She also served as the 67th Secretary of State of the United States - from January 21, 2009 until ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Maestro

    Try:
    Living History
    by Hillary Rodham Clinton

We recommend 7 similar authors

View all 7 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Pianist from Syria
    The Pianist from Syria
    by Aeham Ahmad
    Aeham Ahmad became famous as the face of Syrian suffering when a photo of him playing piano in the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Smiling Man
    The Smiling Man
    by Joseph Knox
    Joseph Knox's latest turns on a simple premise: an unidentified and unidentifiable murdered man is ...
  • Book Jacket: The Heavens
    The Heavens
    by Sandra Newman
    I've been a big fan of Sandra Newman's writing ever since reading her 2014 novel The Country of Ice ...
  • Book Jacket: Sugar Run
    Sugar Run
    by Mesha Maren
    Mesha Maren's debut novel is a plunge into the depths of the dark Southern gothic with pulsing and ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    American Princess
    by Stephanie Marie Thornton

    Rated 4.9 stars by BookBrowse members - one of the highest scores of all time!
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    A People's History of Heaven
    by Mathangi Subramanian

    A story of love and friendship, and fighting for the places we love.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Girls Burn Brighter
by Shobha Rao

An extraordinary and heart-rending tale of two girls with all the odds against them.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Book Club Giveaway!
Win The Summer Country

Win up to 12 copies to share with friends or your book club!

A sweeping epic of lost love, lies, jealousy, and rebellion set in colonial Barbados.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D T T! Full S A!

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.