Bill Phillips biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Bill Phillips

Bill Phillips

Bill Phillips Biography

Bill Phillips is the author of several fitness books, including Anabolic Reference Guide, Sports Supplement Review, Body-for-LIFE: 12 Weeks to Mental and Physical Strength, Eating for Life: Your Guide to Great Health, Fat Loss and Increased Energy!, and Transformation: A Path from Physical to Spiritual Well-Being.

In April, 1997, Bill Phillips decided to hold a fitness contest to select a national spokesperson. The 1997  Physique- Transformation Challenge was created to inspire people to become physically and mentally stronger by focusing on fitness. More than 54,000 people from all walks of life took up his Challenge. By 1998, the contest had grown, and more than 200,000 people answered the call. With this year's Body of Work Challenge, it's become even bigger and continues to help people transform.

When the 1997 contest was over, Phillips saw the opportunity to help reach even more people and decided to produce Body of Work, a documentary movie profiling the contest and the 10 finalists who symbolized what Phillips was looking for--real-life heroes who discovered their true potential and inner strength.

An avid supporter of the Make-A-Wish Foundation, which helps fulfill the dreams of children with life-threatening illnesses, Phillips asked that anyone who received the video and was inspired by it donate $15.00 to the Foundation. As of today, the Body of Work project has raised over $1.5 million for the Make-A-Wish Foundation. And his support of the Foundation continues. Phillips is donating all of the money he receives from the book, Body-for-LIFE, to the Make-A-Wish Foundation of Colorado.

As a result of his work with Make-A-Wish, Phillips was recently honored by Newman's Own and George magazine which named his company, Experimental and Applied Sciences (EAS) as one of the ten Most Generous Companies in America.

In 1991, Phillips began working with doctors and research scientists to develop performance nutrition products that could help athletes get better muscle-building and fat-burning effects from their workouts. In 1992, this prolific writer and master communicator began his own fitness and physique-development magazine, Muscle Media. Currently the nation's fastest-growing strength-training magazine, Muscle Media is distributed on 45,000 newsstands and has a worldwide readership of over 650,000 people.

In 1994, Phillips consolidated his sports nutrition businesses into what is known today as Experimental and Applied Sciences (EAS) --the world's top performance-nutrition company and a $165 million business. Unique to EAS is its unparalleled commitment to university research collaborations aimed at further expanding and refining the science of sports nutrition.

Phillips' expertise on fitness, physique development and athletic performance is not only sought out by fitness buffs worldwide, but also by numerous top Hollywood celebrities who rely on extraordinary physiques to maintain their thriving superstar status, including Sylvester Stallone. Phillips' expertise has also been sought out by world-class athletes such as John Elway, Terrell Davis, Karl Malone, Mike Piazza, Shannon Sharpe, and many more.

Phillips' hard work was rewarded in June, 1997 when, at 32, he became one of the youngest men to win the coveted Entrepreneur of the Year Award. This award, sponsored by Ernst & Young, LLC, Sprint, Merrill Lynch, Inc. Magazine, USA Today and NASDAQ signified just how far Phillips had come. Phillips now stands along side successful businessmen such as Jerry Jones, Owner, President and General Manager of the Dallas Cowboys; Stephen Covey, internationally recognized "success coach" and Co-chairman of the Franklin Covey Company; Herbert Kelleher, Chairman of the Board, President, and CEO of Southwest Airlines; and Michael Dell, CEO of Dell Computer Corporation, all of whom have received awards from the Entrepreneur of the Year Institute.

A native of Golden, Colorado, Phillips began lifting weights at the age of 12. In high school, he became a powerlifting and bodybuilding champion, and a straight-A student. His interest in building muscle and staying physically strong never waned. He did extensive research into the subject of human performance. In 1987, he invested $185, the only money he had, to start a publishing business. His sights set on medical school, he hoped to make enough money to pay for his college tuition. Within a few years, however, driven by passion and razor-sharp entrepreneurial instinct, his publishing enterprise made him a millionaire at the age of 27.

About This Biography
This biography was last updated on 06/08/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Bill Phillips at BookBrowse
Body For Life jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Bill Phillips but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Dr Phillip McGraw

    Dr Phillip McGraw

    Phillip Calvin "Phil" McGraw has the second highest-rated daytime talk show in the U.S.A, Dr. Phil. He is also the author of several New York Times bestsellers. Dr. Phil first gained celebrity status with appearances on The ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Body For Life

    Try:
    The Ultimate Weight Solution
    by Dr Phillip McGraw

  • Brooke Siler

    Brooke Siler

    Brooke Siler is the co-owner of re:AB, the renowned studio for Pilates® training in New York City. Hailed as the "trainer to the stars," she trained under Joseph Pilates' protégé, Romana Kryzanowska, and ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Body For Life

    Try:
    The Pilates Body
    by Brooke Siler

We recommend 2 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Circling the Sun
by Paula McLain

An intoxicatingly vivid portrait of colonial Kenya and its privileged inhabitants.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.