We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Bill Phillips biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Bill Phillips

Bill Phillips

Bill Phillips Biography

Bill Phillips is the author of several fitness books, including Anabolic Reference Guide, Sports Supplement Review, Body-for-LIFE: 12 Weeks to Mental and Physical Strength, Eating for Life: Your Guide to Great Health, Fat Loss and Increased Energy!, and Transformation: A Path from Physical to Spiritual Well-Being.

In April, 1997, Bill Phillips decided to hold a fitness contest to select a national spokesperson. The 1997  Physique- Transformation Challenge was created to inspire people to become physically and mentally stronger by focusing on fitness. More than 54,000 people from all walks of life took up his Challenge. By 1998, the contest had grown, and more than 200,000 people answered the call. With this year's Body of Work Challenge, it's become even bigger and continues to help people transform.

When the 1997 contest was over, Phillips saw the opportunity to help reach even more people and decided to produce Body of Work, a documentary movie profiling the contest and the 10 finalists who symbolized what Phillips was looking for--real-life heroes who discovered their true potential and inner strength.

An avid supporter of the Make-A-Wish Foundation, which helps fulfill the dreams of children with life-threatening illnesses, Phillips asked that anyone who received the video and was inspired by it donate $15.00 to the Foundation. As of today, the Body of Work project has raised over $1.5 million for the Make-A-Wish Foundation. And his support of the Foundation continues. Phillips is donating all of the money he receives from the book, Body-for-LIFE, to the Make-A-Wish Foundation of Colorado.

As a result of his work with Make-A-Wish, Phillips was recently honored by Newman's Own and George magazine which named his company, Experimental and Applied Sciences (EAS) as one of the ten Most Generous Companies in America.

In 1991, Phillips began working with doctors and research scientists to develop performance nutrition products that could help athletes get better muscle-building and fat-burning effects from their workouts. In 1992, this prolific writer and master communicator began his own fitness and physique-development magazine, Muscle Media. Currently the nation's fastest-growing strength-training magazine, Muscle Media is distributed on 45,000 newsstands and has a worldwide readership of over 650,000 people.

In 1994, Phillips consolidated his sports nutrition businesses into what is known today as Experimental and Applied Sciences (EAS) --the world's top performance-nutrition company and a $165 million business. Unique to EAS is its unparalleled commitment to university research collaborations aimed at further expanding and refining the science of sports nutrition.

Phillips' expertise on fitness, physique development and athletic performance is not only sought out by fitness buffs worldwide, but also by numerous top Hollywood celebrities who rely on extraordinary physiques to maintain their thriving superstar status, including Sylvester Stallone. Phillips' expertise has also been sought out by world-class athletes such as John Elway, Terrell Davis, Karl Malone, Mike Piazza, Shannon Sharpe, and many more.

Phillips' hard work was rewarded in June, 1997 when, at 32, he became one of the youngest men to win the coveted Entrepreneur of the Year Award. This award, sponsored by Ernst & Young, LLC, Sprint, Merrill Lynch, Inc. Magazine, USA Today and NASDAQ signified just how far Phillips had come. Phillips now stands along side successful businessmen such as Jerry Jones, Owner, President and General Manager of the Dallas Cowboys; Stephen Covey, internationally recognized "success coach" and Co-chairman of the Franklin Covey Company; Herbert Kelleher, Chairman of the Board, President, and CEO of Southwest Airlines; and Michael Dell, CEO of Dell Computer Corporation, all of whom have received awards from the Entrepreneur of the Year Institute.

A native of Golden, Colorado, Phillips began lifting weights at the age of 12. In high school, he became a powerlifting and bodybuilding champion, and a straight-A student. His interest in building muscle and staying physically strong never waned. He did extensive research into the subject of human performance. In 1987, he invested $185, the only money he had, to start a publishing business. His sights set on medical school, he hoped to make enough money to pay for his college tuition. Within a few years, however, driven by passion and razor-sharp entrepreneurial instinct, his publishing enterprise made him a millionaire at the age of 27.

Bill Phillips's website

This bio was last updated on 06/08/2016. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Bill Phillips at BookBrowse
Body For Life jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Bill Phillips but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

  • Dr Phillip McGraw

    Dr Phillip McGraw

    Phillip Calvin "Phil" McGraw has the second highest-rated daytime talk show in the U.S.A, Dr. Phil. He is also the author of several New York Times bestsellers. Dr. Phil first gained celebrity status with appearances on The ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Body For Life

    Try:
    The Ultimate Weight Solution
    by Dr Phillip McGraw

  • Brooke Siler

    Brooke Siler

    Brooke Siler is the co-owner of re:AB, the renowned studio for Pilates® training in New York City. Hailed as the "trainer to the stars," she trained under Joseph Pilates' protégé, Romana Kryzanowska, and ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Body For Life

    Try:
    The Pilates Body
    by Brooke Siler

We recommend 2 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...
  • Book Jacket: Our Moon
    Our Moon
    by Rebecca Boyle
    In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us ...
  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...
  • Book Jacket: Wild and Distant Seas
    Wild and Distant Seas
    by Tara Karr Roberts
    Tara Karr Roberts is a newspaper columnist who also teaches English and journalism. Wild and Distant...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.