We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Frederick Taylor biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Frederick Taylor
Photo: Alice Kavounas

Frederick Taylor

Frederick Taylor Biography

Frederick Taylor was educated at Aylesbury Grammar School; Oxford University,  where he read History and Modern Languages; and Sussex University, where he did postgraduate work specializing in the rise of the extreme Right in Germany during the early twentieth century. A Volkswagen Studentship award enabled him to research and travel widely in both parts of divided Germany at the height of the Cold War.  A former publisher and author of several novels set in Germany (Walking Shadows, 1985; The Peace Brokers, 1992; Kinder Garden, 1994 and Operation Thunderclap, 2003).

In addition, he is the author of Dresden: Tuesday, February 13, 1945 (nonfiction, 2004), the first serious reappraisal of one of the most infamous air raids of the Second World War. The book has been acclaimed for its intensive research, and its in-depth understanding of both the historical and contemporary context of Dresden during the conflict; and editor and translator of various works from German, including The Goebbels Diaries, 1939-1941. The Berlin Wall: 13 August 1961 - 9 November 1989 was published in the UK in September 2006.  It was published in the USA in May 2007 (as The Berlin Wall: A World Divided, 1961-1989). He is married with three children and lives in Cornwall, England.

Frederick Taylor's website

This bio was last updated on 06/07/2016. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Frederick Taylor at BookBrowse
Exorcising Hitler jacket The Berlin Wall jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Frederick Taylor but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

  • Author Image Not Available

      Anonymous

    Anonymous was a young woman at the time of the fall of Berlin. She was a journalist and editor during and after the war. (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Berlin Wall

    Try:
    A Woman In Berlin
    by   Anonymous

  • Anne Applebaum

    Anne Applebaum

    Anne Applebaum was born in 1964, and was educated at Sidwell Friends School before earning a BA at Yale. Anne went on to earn a Masters Degree at the London School of Economics, before moving to Warsaw, Poland in 1988 as a ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Berlin Wall

    Try:
    Iron Curtain
    by Anne Applebaum

We recommend 12 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ascent
    The Ascent
    by Adam Plantinga
    Adam Plantinga's brilliant debut novel, The Ascent, introduces readers to former Detroit police ...
  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...
  • Book Jacket: Our Moon
    Our Moon
    by Rebecca Boyle
    In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us ...
  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.