We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Sandra Scoppettone biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Sandra Scoppettone

Sandra Scoppettone

Sandra Scoppettone Biography

Sandra Scoppettone has written numerous crime novels, including three under the pseudonym Jack Early. She is known for her mystery and young adult books. Her book Happy Endings are All Alike (1978) was chosen by the American Library Association for its "Best Books for Young Adults" list. Scoppettone lives on Long Island in New York.

Sandra Scoppettone's website

This bio was last updated on 10/17/2015. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Sandra Scoppettone answers questions about her books and her long career as an author.

Your earliest novels were for young adults and focused on societal issues or problems. For over 20 years you've written exclusively about crime. Explain your transition from one to the other. They seem quite far apart.
It wasn't actually a transition as you'll see. I was known for writing 'hot' topics for YAs. But that was never my intention. I wrote about what interested me. Alcoholism, rape, homosexuality, MS, all for specific reasons. Over the same period when I was writing YAs I wrote three crime novels for adults. One was a private eye novel but it was under a pseudonym. The last YA I wrote was a mystery. It was called Playing Murder. I enjoyed writing this even though after 100 pages I realized I'd killed the wrong person and had to start all over. I think that was the first novel I wrote on a computer. By then I felt I'd said all I wanted to in and to YAs. So having written three crime-related novels already it was a natural progression for me to switch over.

Were you always fascinated by crime? I don't know if fascinated is the right word. I do remember that in the Sunday newspaper every week there was a feature called Justice Triumphs and it ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Sandra Scoppettone at BookBrowse
Too Darn Hot jacket This Dame For Hire jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Sandra Scoppettone but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

  • Sally Andrew

    Sally Andrew

    Sally Andrew lives on a nature reserve in South Africa's Klein Karoo with her partner, Bowen Boshier, and other wildlife, including a secretive leopard. Her background is in adult and environmental education, and she has ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    This Dame For Hire

    Try:
    Recipes for Love and Murder
    by Sally Andrew

  • Robert Crais

    Robert Crais

    Crais is the author of the best-selling Elvis Cole novels. A native of Louisiana, he grew up on the banks of the Mississippi River in a blue collar family of oil refinery workers and police officers. He purchased a ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    This Dame For Hire

    Try:
    The Forgotten Man
    by Robert Crais

We recommend 9 similar authors

View all 9 Read-Alikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ascent
    The Ascent
    by Adam Plantinga
    Adam Plantinga's brilliant debut novel, The Ascent, introduces readers to former Detroit police ...
  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...
  • Book Jacket: Our Moon
    Our Moon
    by Rebecca Boyle
    In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us ...
  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.