Caroline Lawrence biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Caroline Lawrence

Caroline Lawrence

Caroline Lawrence Biography

Caroline Lawrence is an English American author, best known for The Roman Mysteries series of historical novels for children. She was born in London, England. Her American parents returned to the United States shortly afterwards and she grew up in Bakersfield, California with her younger brother and sister. Her father taught English and drama in a local high school and her mother was an artist.

When she was twelve, Caroline's family moved to Stanford University in northern California so that her father could study Linguistics. Caroline inherited her father's love of words and her mother's love of art. She subsequently studied Classics at Berkeley, where she won a Marshall Scholarship to Cambridge. There, at Newnham College, she studied Classical Art and Archaeology.

After Cambridge, Caroline remained in England, and later took an MA in Hebrew and Jewish Studies at University College, London. She then taught Latin, French and art at a small London primary school.

In 2000 she wrote The Thieves of Ostia, the first in a series of children's adventure stories set in Ancient Rome. The Roman Mysteries combine Caroline's love of art history, ancient languages and travel.

Her other passions include cinema, jazz and London. Caroline has a son Simon, from a previous marriage, and she now lives by the river in London with her husband Richard, a graphic designer.

In 2009, Caroline won the Classical Association Prize for her Roman Mysteries series.

Caroline Lawrence's website

This bio was last updated on 10/20/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Caroline Lawrence answers a multitude of questions asked of her by students during her hundreds of school visits. Includes everything you could possibly want to know about the Roman Mystery series, including the names and publication dates of books yet to be published!

My book is signed by you, and has something written in a foreign language. What does it mean?
I try to sign each of my books or short stories with a different Latin motto. Here's what they mean:

  • Cave canem in The Thieves of Ostia means 'Beware of the dog'
  • Fortes fortuna iuvat in The Secrets of Vesuvius means 'Fortune favours the brave'
  • Volare! in The Pirates of Pompeii means 'to fly!'
  • Lacrimae rerum in The Assassins of Rome means 'events have tears' or 'sad things happen'
  • Morbo medeor in The Dolphins of Laurentum means 'I am healed of my disease'
  • Pater noster in the short story Bread and Circuses means 'Our father'
  • Carpe diem in The Twelve Tasks of Flavia Gemina means 'Seize the day' or 'Go for it!'
  • Fiat lux in the short story The Case of the Missing Coin means 'Let there be light'
  • Ars longa... in The Enemies of Jupiter means 'the skill lasts a long time...'
  • Uri, vinciri, verberari... in the short story Jonathan vs Ira means 'to be burned, fettered, flogged...'
  • Habet! in The Gladiators from Capua means 'he's been hit!'
  • Hectora credas in The ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Caroline Lawrence at BookBrowse
The Enemies of Jupiter jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Caroline Lawrence but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Karen Hesse

    Karen Hesse

    Karen Hesse is the award-winning author of several outstanding books for young readers, including Letters from Rifka and Phoenix Rising. She lives in Williamsville, Vermont.

    Karen grew up in Baltimore, Maryland and began ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Enemies of Jupiter

    Try:
    Stowaway
    by Karen Hesse

  • Brian Jacques

    Brian Jacques

    "I sometimes think it ironic for an ex-seaman, longshoreman, truck driver, policeman, bus driver, etc., to find success writing children's novels," says Brian Jacques (pronounced "Jakes"). Yet it is all too true. With ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Enemies of Jupiter

    Try:
    Castaways of The Flying Dutchman
    by Brian Jacques

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Discover your next great read here

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Rules of Magic
    The Rules of Magic
    by Alice Hoffman
    Alice Hoffman's Rules of Magic is the long-awaited prequel to one of her most cherished novels,...
  • Book Jacket: Good Me Bad Me
    Good Me Bad Me
    by Ali Land
    Is a psychopath born or made? This is the terrifying question that author Ali Land explores in her ...
  • Book Jacket: Five-Carat Soul
    Five-Carat Soul
    by James McBride
    In the short story "Sonny's Blues," from the 1965 collection Going to Meet the Man, African-...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood

"A powerful, provocative debut ... Intelligent, honest, and unsentimental." - Kirkus, starred review

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Never Coming Back
    by Alison McGhee

    A moving exploration of growing up and growing old, and the ties that bind parents and children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Wisdom of Sundays

The Wisdom of Sundays
by Oprah Winfrey

Life-changing insights from super soul conversations.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A Good M I H T F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.