Angie Sage biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Angie Sage
Photo: Gorsefield Photography

Angie Sage

Angie Sage Biography

Angie Sage is the author of the Septimus Heap series. She is also the illustrator and/or writer of many children's books, and is the new writer of the Araminta Spook series.

Sage grew up in Thames Valley, London and Kent. She first studied medicine, but changed her mind and went to Art School in Leicester. There she studied Graphic Design and Illustration. She began illustrating books after college. Then she progressed to writing children stories, including toddler books and chapter books.

About This Biography
This biography was last updated on 10/17/2015. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

An Interview with Angie Sage

You have written many picture books and chapter books for children. What was it that inspired this, your first novel, Septimus Heap?
I have had the character of Septimus in my head for a long time- and the world he lived in too. I knew Septimus was someone who was in a strange and hostile world who did not have a clue about who he really was. But t was only when Marcia suddenly jumped into the picture that the story began to happen. She was so bossy and just insisted that I had to keep on writing – and you don't say no to Marcia.

When you began writing, did you know what would happen to Septimus, or did the story and the characters unfold as you wrote?

I knew what would happen to Septimus in the end, but I did not know exactly how he would get there, or who he would meet on the way. That's the exciting thing about writing the world that he lives in - so many creatures and people just appear and make things happen.

Tell us a little more about the world you have created – the Castle, the Port, the Forest, the Marshes … is any of it based on places you know and love?
The whole slightly off-the-wall feeling of the place comes from living in Cornwall, England!...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Angie Sage at BookBrowse
Physik jacket Magyk jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Angie Sage but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Peter Dickinson

    Peter Dickinson

    Peter Dickinson, born in 1927, has written more than fifty novels for adults and young readers; and has won both the Carnegie Medal and the Whitbread Children's Award twice.

    He is a tall, elderly, bony, beaky, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Magyk

    Try:
    Tears of The Salamander
    by Peter Dickinson

  • Cornelia Funke

    Cornelia Funke

    The German author, Cornelia Funke (click to hear her pronounce her name) was born 1958 in Dorsten, in the German region of Westphalia. Following university, she worked for three years as a social ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Magyk

    Try:
    Dragon Rider
    by Cornelia Funke

We recommend 7 similar authors

View all 7 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Circling the Sun
by Paula McLain

An intoxicatingly vivid portrait of colonial Kenya and its privileged inhabitants.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.