Brad Geagley biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Brad Geagley
© Don Sagan

Brad Geagley

Brad Geagley Biography

Brad Geagley worked for many years as a producer in the entertainment industry. However, history and writing were Geagley's real loves. He has written two novels in the Semerket series and is currently at work on a new stage play and screenplay. Geagley lives in Palm Springs, California.

Brad Geagley's website

This bio was last updated on 01/01/2015. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Brad Geagley describes how a career working at Disney combined with a 40 year interest in Ancient Egypt combined into his first mystery, Year of the Hyenas, starring Semerket, Egypt's Clerk of Investigations and Secrets.

The ancient era in which you've set the book is not necessarily the traditional setting for mysteries. What made you decide to choose Ancient Egypt?
Ancient Egyptian archaeology has been a love of mine from the time I was ten years old. I've come to enjoy reading ancient laundry lists far more than other literature. Historical fiction was also a great love -- books like "The Egyptian," "Aztec," and the Angelique series. Therefore, when I cast about for something to write, I thought it would be fun to do a "film noir" set in Ancient Egypt, with a kind of ancient Sam Spade at its center. I could thus write about the history that I love, but keep it short and fast-paced. In other words, I decided to write chamber pieces instead of symphonies.

Additionally, I find that I relate more to people and events from other eras. The study of history simplifies things, too, giving us a mirror to hold up to our own age. As Mark Twain said, "History doesn't repeat itself, but it rhymes." I find it comforting to know that the problems of being human were addressed five-thousand years ago, and in much the same way as they are today; only technology changes.

Finally, I believe that history in this country is being ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Brad Geagley at BookBrowse
Day of the False King jacket Year of The Hyenas jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Brad Geagley but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Lindsey Davis

    Lindsey Davis

    Lindsey Davis was born and raised in Birmingham, read English at Oxford, then joined the civil service. After thirteen years, her first novel (which she'd written for herself) was runner-up for the Georgette Heyer Historical ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Year of The Hyenas

    Try:
    The Accusers
    by Lindsey Davis

  • Ruth Downie

    Ruth Downie

    In 2004, Ruth Downie won the Fay Weldon section of BBC3's End of Story competition. Her first novel, Medicus and the Disappearing Dancing Girls was published in the UK in 2006, and in the USA in 2007 (as simply Medicus). The ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Year of The Hyenas

    Try:
    Medicus
    by Ruth Downie

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    The Book Woman's Daughter
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    Kim Michele Richardson's The Book Woman's Daughter follows Honey Lovett, 16-year-old daughter of ...
  • Book Jacket: Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    by Clare Pooley
    For the many years that I've been reading, one realization has always come to mind for me after ...
  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...
  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

  • Book Jacket

    The Lies I Tell
    by Julie Clark

    The new thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Last Flight!

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.