Mark Cohen biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Mark Cohen
Michelle McGinley

Mark Cohen

Mark Cohen Biography

Mark Cohen grew up in Denver. He earned his BA in economics at Whitman College and his law degree from the University of Colorado School of Law. From 1983 to 1987 he served as a Judge Advocate (JAG) in the U.S. Air Force, and later practiced law in Omaha.

Cohen's debut novel, The Fractal Murders, was originally self-published and was chosen as a Book Sense 76 Top Mystery in 2002 and was a finalist for the Colorado Book Award. Mysterious Press published a revised hardcover edition in 2004. A second Pepper Keane novel, Bluetick Revenge, was published in 2005.

Cohen lives with his wife, two daughters, and three dogs in Nederland, Colorado.

From the author's website

Mark Cohen's website

This bio was last updated on 01/02/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

The Fractal Murders: The Story Behind the Story


Editor's note: Originally self-published, Mark Cohen's The Fractal Murders won tremendous praise from reviewers and was a Book Sense Top Ten Mystery in 2002. Impressed by Cohen's voice, creativity, and humor, Mysterious Press purchased The Fractal Murders and will release a hardcover version in May of 2004. A sequel, Bluetick Revenge, is in the works. In this Q&A, Mark takes time to discuss The Fractal Murders (TFM) and how it came to be.

Q. First tell us, what is a fractal?
A. A fractal is a geometric shape with a pattern that repeats itself at different scales of magnitude. Most objects in nature are fractals. Ginger roots are a great example; every ginger root is unique, yet they all look somewhat similar. And the "branches" of each root have the same general shape as the root as whole.

Q. How do fractals come into play in TFM?
A. The mystery begins when math professor Jayne Smyers discovers that three other math professors in different parts of the United States - all specialists in fractal geometry - were murdered or committed suicide within a short period of time. ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Mark Cohen at BookBrowse
The Fractal Murders jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Mark Cohen but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Michael Connelly

    Michael Connelly

    Michael Connelly decided to become a writer after discovering the books of Raymond Chandler while attending the University of Florida. Once he decided on this direction he chose a major in journalism and a minor in creative ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Fractal Murders

    Try:
    The Closers
    by Michael Connelly

  • Robert B. Parker

    Robert B. Parker

    Robert B. Parker was the author of more than 60 books including westerns and young-adult novels, but is best known for his detective novels featuring Boston private-eye Spenser. In recent years he introduced a new ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Fractal Murders

    Try:
    Hugger Mugger
    by Robert B. Parker

We recommend 3 similar authors

View all 3 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Never-Open Desert Diner
    by James Anderson
    James Anderson's debut novel, The Never-Open Desert Diner, starts off as an entertaining ...
  • Book Jacket
    In the Country of Men
    by Hisham Matar
    Labeled by some as the "Libyan Kite Runner", In The Country of Men does share some ...
  • Book Jacket: Holding Up the Universe
    Holding Up the Universe
    by Jennifer Niven
    Jennifer Niven's spectacular Holding Up the Universe has everything that I love about Young ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Who Said...

A classic is a book that has never finished saying what it has to say

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay:
$400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.