Mark Cohen biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Mark Cohen
Michelle McGinley

Mark Cohen

Mark Cohen Biography

Mark Cohen grew up in Denver. He earned his BA in economics at Whitman College and his law degree from the University of Colorado School of Law. From 1983 to 1987 he served as a Judge Advocate (JAG) in the U.S. Air Force, and later practiced law in Omaha.

Cohen's debut novel, The Fractal Murders, was originally self-published and was chosen as a Book Sense 76 Top Mystery in 2002 and was a finalist for the Colorado Book Award. Mysterious Press published a revised hardcover edition in 2004. A second Pepper Keane novel, Bluetick Revenge, was published in 2005.

Cohen lives with his wife, two daughters, and three dogs in Nederland, Colorado.

From the author's website

Mark Cohen's website

This bio was last updated on 01/02/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Mark Cohen discusses the story behind his first book, The Fractal Murders, both in terms of the book's plot and the long road to getting it published.

Editor's note: Originally self-published, Mark Cohen's The Fractal Murders won tremendous praise from reviewers and was a Book Sense Top Ten Mystery in 2002. Impressed by Cohen's voice, creativity, and humor, Mysterious Press purchased The Fractal Murders and will release a hardcover version in May of 2004. A sequel, Bluetick Revenge, is in the works. In this Q&A, Mark takes time to discuss The Fractal Murders (TFM) and how it came to be.

Q. First tell us, what is a fractal?
A. A fractal is a geometric shape with a pattern that repeats itself at different scales of magnitude. Most objects in nature are fractals. Ginger roots are a great example; every ginger root is unique, yet they all look somewhat similar. And the "branches" of each root have the same general shape as the root as whole.

Q. How do fractals come into play in TFM?
A. The mystery begins when math professor Jayne Smyers discovers that three other math professors in different parts of the United States - all specialists in fractal geometry - were murdered or committed suicide within a short period of time. Unable to chalk it up to coincidence, she contacts ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Mark Cohen at BookBrowse
The Fractal Murders jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Mark Cohen but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Michael Connelly

    Michael Connelly

    Michael Connelly decided to become a writer after discovering the books of Raymond Chandler while attending the University of Florida. Once he decided on this direction he chose a major in journalism and a minor in creative ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Fractal Murders

    Try:
    The Closers
    by Michael Connelly

  • Robert B. Parker

    Robert B. Parker

    Robert B. Parker was the author of more than 60 books including westerns and young-adult novels, but is best known for his detective novels featuring Boston private-eye Spenser. In recent years he introduced a new ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Fractal Murders

    Try:
    Hugger Mugger
    by Robert B. Parker

We recommend 3 similar authors

View all 3 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Love and Other Consolation Prizes
    by Jamie Ford
    Love and Other Consolation Prizes was read and reviewed by 22 BookBrowse members for First ...
  • Book Jacket: The Judge Hunter
    The Judge Hunter
    by Christopher Buckley
    In London 1664, Balthasar de St. Michel or "Balty" has no discernable skills besides pestering his ...
  • Book Jacket: Star of the North
    Star of the North
    by D.B. John
    It's summertime. You're looking for an absorbing thriller while you flop at the beach. ...
  • Book Jacket: The Abbot's Tale
    The Abbot's Tale
    by Conn Iggulden
    The Abbot's Tale purports to be a re-discovered manuscript written by a real historical figure,...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Mississippi Blood by Greg Iles

New York Times bestselling author Greg Iles illuminates the brutal history of the American South.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Me, Myself and Them
    by Dan Mooney

    A fresh, funny and heart-wrenching story about human connection and the power of friendship.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win A Place for Us

A Place For Us

A deeply moving story of love, identity and belonging--the first novel from Sarah Jessica Parker's new imprint.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

H, W H A Problem

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.