Bem Le Hunte biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Bem Le Hunte

Bem Le Hunte

How to pronounce Bem Le Hunte: http://www.bemlehunte.com/bemlehunte/Home.html

Bem Le Hunte Biography

Bem Le Hunte is half Indian, half English and an Australian by choice. Her first novel, The Seduction of Silence, is the story of five generations of an Indian family, set in the Himalayas and London. Her second novel, There, Where the Pepper Grows is a story about a group of refugees who escape Nazi persecution in Poland, to arrive in Calcutta during the war.

Both novels have gone on to become international number 1 bestsellers and been published to great critical acclaim. She is currently completing a third novel and film script titled Father of all Stories. Bem Le Hunte is also completing a doctoral thesis on creativity and the sacred at Sydney University.

Bem Le Hunte's website

This bio was last updated on 02/07/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Bem Le Hunte discusses the inspiration for her stunning first book The Seduction of Silence, and how the more magical and unbelievable parts of the tale are actually based on true events, many from her own experience.

How do you compare yourself to other writers writing about the India experience?
I don't. I feel as if my writing has more Latin American influences, if anything. I love so much of the writing that is coming through writers of Indian descent, but I feel I am a product of my own experience, which is not geographically expressed. I don't intend to write only about India in the future. Neither did I ever intend my book to be some kind of an ethnic experience. Actually, it isn't a typically Indian story, and I don't write in an Indian voice. Nonetheless, India is a huge inspiration for me. When I'm there I'm saturated with the color, smell and personality of the land and I feel as if absolutely anything could happen. India is truly the country of the unexpected, and from a writer's point of view, it is rich with possibilities. Also, the spirituality of the people has always touched me, although Indians nowadays like to believe that they are not a spiritual nation, but an industrial superpower!

How would you describe the experience of writing?
It's a feeling of being connected, on a deep level, to a part of your self that is fully based in ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Bem Le Hunte at BookBrowse
The Seduction of Silence jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Bem Le Hunte but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Kate Atkinson

    Kate Atkinson

    Kate Atkinson was born in York and now lives in Edinburgh.

    She won the Whitbread (now Costa) Book of the Year prize with her first novel, Behind the Scenes at the Museum. Her four bestselling novels featuring former ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Seduction of Silence

    Try:
    Life After Life
    by Kate Atkinson

  • Kavita Daswani

    Kavita Daswani

    Kavita Daswani is an Indian-American author. She has been a fashion correspondent for CNN, CNBC Asia, and Women's Wear Daily, has written for the Los Angeles Times and the International Herald Tribune, among many other ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Seduction of Silence

    Try:
    For Matrimonial Purposes
    by Kavita Daswani

We recommend 8 similar authors

View all 8 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Good Me Bad Me
    Good Me Bad Me
    by Ali Land
    Is a psychopath born or made? This is the terrifying question that author Ali Land explores in her ...
  • Book Jacket: Five-Carat Soul
    Five-Carat Soul
    by James McBride
    In the short story "Sonny's Blues," from the 1965 collection Going to Meet the Man, African-...
  • Book Jacket: This Blessed Earth
    This Blessed Earth
    by Ted Genoways
    For the Hammonds, a farming family in Nebraska, the 2014 harvest season started with a perfect storm...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood

"A powerful, provocative debut ... Intelligent, honest, and unsentimental." - Kirkus, starred review

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Seven Days of Us
    by Francesca Hornak

    A warm, wry debut novel about a family forced to spend a week together over the holidays.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Wisdom of Sundays

The Wisdom of Sundays
by Oprah Winfrey

Life-changing insights from super soul conversations.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A Good M I H T F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.