Announcing our Top 20 Books of 2022

Hilary McKay biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Hilary McKay
Photo: © scholastic

Hilary McKay

Hilary McKay Biography

Hilary McKay is the award-winning author of Love to Everyone, Binny Bewitched (which was a Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year and received two starred reviews), Binny in Secret (which received three starred reviews), Binny for Short (which received four starred reviews), and six novels about the Casson family: Saffy's Angel, Indigo's Star, Permanent Rose, Caddy Ever After, Forever Rose, and Caddy's World. She is also the author of Wishing for Tomorrow, the sequel to Frances Hodgson Burnett's A Little Princess. Hilary lives with her family in Derbyshire, England. Department. She enjoyed the work but at the same time had a burning desire to write. After the birth of her two children, she wanted to devote more time to bringing up her children and writing.

McKay says that one of the best things about being a writer is receiving letters from children. She wishes that she had written to authors as a child, but it never occurred to her to contact them. When not writing she loves walking (in and around the small village in Derbyshire where she lives with her family), reading and having friends to stay.

Her first book, The Exiles, was published in 1991 and went on to win The Guardian Children’s Fiction Award. It was followed by The Exiles at Home (1993) which won the Nestlé Smarties Gold Award for the 9-11 years category and the overall winner. Then followed The Exiles in Love (1996). In 1994 she started on a new trilogy: Dog Friday (1994), The Amber Cat (1995) and Dolphin Luck (1998).

In 2002 she published Saffy’s Angel which won the Whitbread Children's Book Prize. A sequel, Indigo’s Star was published in 2004. Then followed Permanent Rose, Caddy Ever After, Forever Rose, and Caddy's World.

Hilary McKay's website

This bio was last updated on 01/08/2019. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Hilary McKay at BookBrowse
Love to Everyone jacket Caddy's World jacket Wishing for Tomorrow jacket Forever Rose jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Hilary McKay but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Jeanne Birdsall

    Jeanne Birdsall

    Birdsall was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and raised in the suburbs. She decided to become a writer at the age of ten - but she didn't start until she was 41. She worked first on other jobs, most notably as a ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Saffy's Angel

    Try:
    The Penderwicks
    by Jeanne Birdsall

  • Gennifer Choldenko

    Gennifer Choldenko

    Gennifer Choldenko's first novel, Notes from a Liar and Her Dog, was a School Library Journal Best Book of the Year and a California Book Award winner. Her second novel, Al Capone Does My Shirts, was a Newbery Honor Book and ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Indigo's Star

    Try:
    If a Tree Falls at Lunch Period
    by Gennifer Choldenko

We recommend 12 similar authors

View all 12 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join and Save 20%!

Become a member and
discover exceptional books.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Voted 2022 Best Fiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers. Geraldine Brooks creates a ...
  • Book Jacket: In Love
    In Love
    by Amy Bloom
    Voted 2022 Best Nonfiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers. In 2019, author Amy Bloom and her...
  • Book Jacket: Remarkably Bright Creatures
    Remarkably Bright Creatures
    by Shelby Van Pelt
    Shelby Van Pelt's debut novel, Remarkably Bright Creatures, is set in the fictional town of Sowell ...
  • Book Jacket: Demon Copperhead
    Demon Copperhead
    by Barbara Kingsolver
    Barbara Kingsolver’s novel Demon Copperhead is a captivating coming-of-age tale set in rural ...

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Scatterlings
    by Resoketswe Martha Manenzhe

    The debut novel of a gifted storyteller who has become a sensation in her native South Africa.

Wordplay

The Big Holiday Wordplay

Enter Now

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Honor
by Thrity Umrigar
Set in India, a tender and evocative novel about love across a cultural divide, familial devotion and betrayal.
Who Said...

At times, our own light goes out, and is rekindled by a spark from another person.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.