Announcing our Top 20 Books of 2022

Andrew S. Grove biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Andrew S. Grove

Andrew S. Grove

Andrew S. Grove Biography

Andrew S. Grove escaped from Hungary to the United States in 1956 at age 20. He graduated from the City College of New York in 1960 with a Bachelor of Chemical Engineering degree, and received his PhD from the University of California, Berkeley, in 1963.

After five years as a researcher at Fairchild Semiconductor, Dr. Grove participated in the founding of Intel Corporation, where he became, in succession, Chief Operating Officer, Chief Executive Officer and, finally, Chairman. He stepped down as Chairman in 2005.

Physics and Technology of Semiconductor Devices, as well as High Output Management and Only the Paranoid Survive. He received a number of honorary degrees and other honors. He was named Time Magazine's "Man of the Year" in 1997, and received the IEEE 2000 Medal of Honor, and the 2001 Lifetime Achievement Award from the Strategic Management Society. In 2004, he was named the Most Influential Business Person in the Last Twenty-Five Years by the Wharton School of Business and the Nightly Business Report.

He chaired the Campaign for UCSF which raised $1.6B, and was active in cancer and neuroscience research through his private family foundation. He died aged 79 in 2016.

Andrew S. Grove's website

This bio was last updated on 12/28/2017. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Andrew S. Grove, chairman of Intel, discusses how he came to write his biography Swimming Across which involved him breaking the boundary that he had always kept between his personal history and public life, and what it feels like to be always in the public eye.

On Writing by Andrew Grove, chairman of Intel and author of Swimming Across.

I have been in the public eye because of my business role for quite some time. Most of this time I have resisted getting into my personal background. All of that changed when Time magazine chose me to be "Man of the Year" in 1997 and, in the process of collaborating with the magazine staff on a profile they wrote, I found it very difficult to resist their inquiries into my childhood years.

What happened as a result surprised me. Once I broke the boundary separating my personal history from my public messages, I found myself not only willing, but also intrigued about delving into my youth. This intrigue became close to a mandate with the birth of my grandchildren. It dawned on me that I might be too old to tell them my story by the time they were old enough to understand it. So with the idea of setting down in my own words at my own pace, the story of my young years emerged.

I went about the process of mining my memory by letting nature take its course. I would drive or run or go about other aspects of my normal life and when some scene from my first 20 years floated through my mind, I would reach out, grab it and make myself a note on ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Andrew S. Grove at BookBrowse
Swimming Across jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Andrew S. Grove but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Madeleine Albright

    Madeleine Albright

    Madeleine Korbel was born on May 15, 1937 in Prague, Czechoslovakia. Her father, Josef Korbel, was a member of the Czech diplomatic service who worked in Belgrade, London, and Prague before he fled with his family after a ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Swimming Across

    Try:
    Madam Secretary
    by Madeleine Albright

  • Tim Berners-Lee

    Tim Berners-Lee

    Sir Timothy John Berners-Lee (b. 8 June 1955), a founder of the World Wide Web, is currently the director of the World Wide Web Consortium, the coordinating body for Web development. He also occupies the 3Com Founders chair ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Swimming Across

    Try:
    Weaving The Web
    by Tim Berners-Lee

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join and Save 20%!

Become a member and
discover exceptional books.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    Bewilderment
    by Richard Powers
    In 2019, Richard Powers won the Pulitzer Prize for The Overstory, a sprawling novel whose characters...
  • Book Jacket: I'm the Girl
    I'm the Girl
    by Courtney Summers
    YA author Courtney Summers doesn't believe in shielding her teenage readers from the world's darkest...
  • Book Jacket: They're Going to Love You
    They're Going to Love You
    by Meg Howrey
    Teenage Carlisle lives with her mother in Ohio, but their relationship has never felt particularly ...
  • Book Jacket: The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen
    The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen
    by Isaac Blum
    That irreplaceable feeling of everyone knowing your name. The yearning to be anonymous. Parents ...

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Family Izquierdo
    by Rubén Degollado

    A masterful debut that weaves together the lives of three generations of a Mexican American family bound by love, and a curse.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

W N, W Not

and be entered to win..

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Honor
by Thrity Umrigar
Set in India, a tender and evocative novel about love across a cultural divide, familial devotion and betrayal.
Who Said...

The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people ...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.