Ursula Maria Mandel biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Author Image Not Available

Ursula Maria Mandel

Ursula Maria Mandel Biography

Ursula Maria Mandel was born in Germany in 1941 and moved to the USA as an adult.

She published essays on Franz Kafka and on the fearless young life of polio victim Misti Washington. She received a Ph.D. in Comparative Literature (1987, University of Colorado at Boulder. Dissertation: A Comparative Study of Franz Kafka and Djuna Barnes) and taught at the University of Colorado, George Washington University, George Mason University, NOVA, and UVA Extension.

Her works include Twelve Quiet Tales A Collection of Short Stories, Diary of a Naïve, Bo on the Fencepost, The Good American and Memories of VMI.

She died in Virginia in October 2016.



This bio was last updated on 01/11/2018. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Ursula Maria Mandel discusses The Good American, how much is based on its subtitle True Events, and offers special advice to writers just starting out.

What inspired you to write The Good American?
An argument with my mother some years ago. Considering that my mother had been dead nearly thirty years at the moment of this epiphany made this argument--and all the previous ones--very one-sided affairs. But the epiphany--the image of her on a train with a child--struck at a very angry moment, and it changed everything: me, my relationship to my mother, my writing, the confidence in my writing, because I remembered a story I had long forgotten: that she had traveled to the Russian sector in 1948 to get her sister's child out--a dangerous, fool-hearty, immensely brave act. The memory made me see her as I should have seen her all these years: as a human being in her own right, with all her dreams and disappointments, with her tremendous courage, hardships, failures, and, ultimately, laughter.

Since you give your novel the subtitle: A Novel Based on True Events is it safe to say that it is autobiographical?
Yes--as all fiction is autobiographical in terms of experience, emotions, and convictions, and no--because, although I am in the story, it's not my story.

What, in the story, is fact?
Probably seventy percent of it.

Why did you then not write it as a Memoir?
...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Ursula Maria Mandel at BookBrowse
The Good American jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Ursula Maria Mandel but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Ensemble
    The Ensemble
    by Aja Gabel
    In May 1994, the members of the Van Ness String Quartet are completing their final graduate recital ...
  • Book Jacket: The Electric Woman
    The Electric Woman
    by Tessa Fontaine
    In 2010, author Tessa Fontaine's mother had a near-fatal hemorrhagic stroke, leaving her with a...
  • Book Jacket: The Female Persuasion
    The Female Persuasion
    by Meg Wolitzer
    A college freshman struggling for identity. A 1960s feminist icon attempting to maintain her ...
  • Book Jacket: A Lucky Man
    A Lucky Man
    by Jamel Brinkley
    If his debut collection of short stories, A Lucky Man is any indicator, Jamel Brinkley is poised on ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Harbor of Spies by Robin Lloyd

A captivating thriller-at-sea set in Spanish colonial Havana in the 1860s.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Other People's Houses
    by Abbi Waxman

    A hilarious and poignant novel about four families and the affair that changes everything.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Comedown

The Comedown by Rebekah Frumkin

A blistering dark comedy that explores delineating lines of race, class, religion, and time.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.