Dorothy Garlock biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Dorothy Garlock

Dorothy Garlock

Dorothy Garlock Biography

Dorothy Garlock has more than 20 million books in print world-wide. A native Texan, she considers Clear Lake, Iowa her home since moving here with her husband, Herb Garlock Sr., in 1955. The mother of two and grandmother of three started her book-writing career in 1976 after working for 14 years as bookkeeper/columnist for the local newspaper. Always an avid reader and history buff, her success as a novelist came as a complete surprise to her.

Dorothy Garlock's books have been translated into 18 different languages and are published in 36 different countries. She receives mail from all over the world.

With more than 37 books still in print Dorothy Garlock's books have been consistently on the bestseller lists, including New York Times, USA Today, and Washington Post. She had received 21 awards from various magazines and writer's groups.

From the author's website



This bio was last updated on 02/25/2016. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Dorothy Garlock discusses the western novel genre and offers advice to would be western writers.

THE WESTERN : WHAT IS IT?

The Romance novel has been around for a long, long time. Only lately has it been classified as such. Many of the great classics are romances. For instance, Gone with The Wind, Wuthering Heights, and Lorna Doone are all classic tales of romance. The romance genre is a strong force in almost all of Frank Yerby's books, as well as Anya Seton's Dragonwyck and Foxfire. Remember Rebecca and Jamaica Inn? The movie The African Queen was an historical love story.

I love writing romances. It's satisfying to hear from a reader that they got lost in one of my pioneer stories and for a while forgot their problems.

The Western novel, as we now know it, seems to be any story set west of the Mississippi during the last half of the 19th century.

The land west of the Mississippi was overwhelmingly vast, both beautiful and brutal, a land of promise and pain, a land of unbelievable hardship and unbelievable riches. The people who came west were people of noble strength and virtue and some of the meanest SOB's to leave a mark on the face of American civilization.

The Old West is uniquely American. Nothing like it exists anywhere in the world. Other lands may have had their wild and rowdy histories, ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Dorothy Garlock at BookBrowse
Week from Sunday jacket Train From Marietta jacket The Edge of Town jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Dorothy Garlock but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Kent Haruf

    Kent Haruf

    Kent Haruf’s honors include a Whiting Foundation Award and a special citation from the PEN/Hemingway Foundation. His 1999 novel, Plainsong, won the Mountains & Plains Booksellers Award and was a finalist for the National... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Edge of Town

    Try:
    Plainsong
    by Kent Haruf

  • Cormac McCarthy

    Cormac McCarthy

    The novels of the American writer Cormac McCarthy have received a number of literary awards, including the Pulitzer Prize, the National Book Award, and the National Book Critics Circle Award. His works adapted to film include... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Edge of Town

    Try:
    No Country For Old Men
    by Cormac McCarthy

We recommend 2 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join and Save 20%!

Become a member and
discover exceptional books.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: They're Going to Love You
    They're Going to Love You
    by Meg Howrey
    Teenage Carlisle lives with her mother in Ohio, but their relationship has never felt particularly ...
  • Book Jacket: The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen
    The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen
    by Isaac Blum
    That irreplaceable feeling of everyone knowing your name. The yearning to be anonymous. Parents ...
  • Book Jacket: Now Is Not the Time to Panic
    Now Is Not the Time to Panic
    by Kevin Wilson
    The edge is a shantytown filled with gold seekers. We are fugitives, and the law is skinny with ...
  • Book Jacket: Foster
    Foster
    by Claire Keegan
    Irish author Claire Keegan is experiencing a surge in popularity, thanks to the selection of her ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Honor
by Thrity Umrigar
Set in India, a tender and evocative novel about love across a cultural divide, familial devotion and betrayal.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Family Izquierdo
    by Rubén Degollado

    A masterful debut that weaves together the lives of three generations of a Mexican American family bound by love, and a curse.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

W N, W Not

and be entered to win..

Who Said...

Be careful about reading health books. You may die of a misprint.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.