Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Fae Myenne Ng biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Fae Myenne Ng

Fae Myenne Ng

How to pronounce Fae Myenne Ng: "Myenne" is a single syllable. "Ng" is pronounced "ing."

Fae Myenne Ng Biography

Fae Myenne Ng is a first-generation Chinese American author, born December 2, 1956 in San Francisco. She attended the University of California-Berkeley, and received her M.F.A. at Columbia University.

Ng is the author of bestseller and PEN/Faulkner Fiction finalist Bone and American Book Award winner Steer Toward Rock. Her work has been published in Harper's Magazine, The New Republic, Ploughshares, and anthologized in Charlie Chan is Dead: An Anthology of Contemporary Asian American Fiction, Literature Across Cultures, The PEN Short Fiction Project, and The Pushcart Prize. She has been the recipient of fellowships from the American Academy of Arts & Letters, the Guggenheim, the Lannan Foundation, the NEA, the Radcliffe Institute, and the Rockefeller Foundation. She teaches creative writing and literature in UC Berkeley's Department of Asian American and Asian Diaspora Studies.

Fae Myenne Ng's website

This bio was last updated on 06/27/2023. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

A Conversation with Fae Myenne Ng, author of Orphan Bachelors

What motivated you to write this memoir?

This is the book I always hoped to write. Orphan Bachelors is about the almost-vainglorious era in my San Francisco's Chinatown, a sliver of time when my parents and their community held on tenaciously to the pre-Mao culture they knew, much like how the Sicilians in Manhattan's Little Italy preserved the world of pre-Mussolini Italy.

Tell us how the Chinese Exclusion Act and US immigration policies directly impacted your immediate family and your Chinatown community?

Families were rare in the Chinatown of my youth, making it an intimate, insular village. Despite Exclusion being repealed in 1943, for over two decades, a quota limited the annual entry of Chinese to 105 persons. My father called it "the Little Exclusion".

In 1940, my father's sister, the wife of a merchant, was already in America and paid $4,000 (today's equivalent of $82,000) for citizenship papers that allowed him to enter the country. He was one of the last and youngest detainees on Angel Island in its final year of operation. There, he was interrogated; he'd memorized a book of lies to pose as the son of an American citizen. After several mishaps, he passed the interrogation. He lived in San Francisco as an ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Fae Myenne Ng at BookBrowse
Orphan Bachelors jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Fae Myenne Ng but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

  • Danielle Geller

    Danielle Geller

    Danielle Geller is a writer of personal essays and memoir. She received her MFA in creative writing for nonfiction at the University of Arizona, and a Rona Jaffe Writers' Award in 2016. Her work has appeared in The New Yorker... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Orphan Bachelors

    Try:
    Dog Flowers
    by Danielle Geller

  • Sabrina Imbler

    Sabrina Imbler

    Sabrina Imbler is a writer and science journalist living in Brooklyn. Their first chapbook, Dyke (geology) was published by Black Lawrence Press. They have received fellowships and scholarships from the Asian American Writers... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Orphan Bachelors

    Try:
    How Far the Light Reaches
    by Sabrina Imbler

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Read-Alikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Liberty Equality Fashion
    Liberty Equality Fashion
    by Anne Higonnet
    With the title Liberty Equality Fashion, it may seem like Anne Higonnet's new book is an unserious ...
  • Book Jacket: Real Americans
    Real Americans
    by Rachel Khong
    Rachel Khong's sophomore novel Real Americans is an intergenerational saga that questions racial and...
  • Book Jacket: A Short Walk Through a Wide World
    A Short Walk Through a Wide World
    by Douglas Westerbeke
    From the very first page of A Short Walk Through a Wide World, debut novelist (and librarian!) ...
  • Book Jacket: The Swans of Harlem
    The Swans of Harlem
    by Karen Valby
    Journalist Karen Valby's first book, The Swans of Harlem, introduces readers to the little-known ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Familiar
by Leigh Bardugo
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author Leigh Bardugo comes a spellbinding novel set in the Spanish Golden Age.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    This Strange Eventful History
    by Claire Messud

    An immersive, masterful story of a family born on the wrong side of history.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

R is a D B S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.