Uzodinma Iweala biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Uzodinma Iweala
Photo: Caroline Cuse

Uzodinma Iweala

How to pronounce Uzodinma Iweala: OO-zah-din-mah EE-wah-lah

Uzodinma Iweala Biography

Uzodinma Iweala was born in Washington D.C. in 1982, and is an American author and physician of Nigerian descent. He is a graduate of Harvard University and Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons, and is currently the CEO and Editor-in-Chief of Ventures Africa. an online and print magazine focused on Business and entrepreneurship in Africa.

Iweala's debut novel, Beast of No Nation, tells the story of a child soldier in West Africa, and came out of his undergraduate thesis work at Harvard. It was conducted under the supervision of writer Jamaica Kincaid, and won numerous awards including the John Llwellyn Rhys Prize for Best First Novel, the American Academy of Arts and Letters Sue Kaufman Prize, the Barnes & Noble Discover New Writers Award, the New York Public Library Young Lions Fiction Award, and the Los Angeles Times First Book Award. It was also selected as a New York Times Notable Book. His second book, Our Kind of People , is a non-fiction account of the HIV and AIDS Epidemic in Nigeria.

A supporter of African art, Iweala is also the owner of House 33, an Abuja, Nigeria based gallery that focuses on environmentally conscious art. He currently lives in Lagos, Nigeria and New York City.



This bio was last updated on 02/20/2018. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Uzodinma Iweala at BookBrowse
Speak No Evil jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Uzodinma Iweala but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

    Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

    Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie was born in Nigeria in 1977. She is from Abba, in Anambra State, but grew up in the university town of Nsukka where she attended primary and secondary schools and briefly studied Medicine and ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Speak No Evil

    Try:
    Americanah
    by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

  • Sefi Atta

    Sefi Atta

    Sefi Atta was born in Lagos, Nigeria, in 1964 and currently divides her time between the United States, England and Nigeria. She qualified as a Chartered Accountant in England, a Certified Public Accountant in the United ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Speak No Evil

    Try:
    A Bit of Difference
    by Sefi Atta

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: 1000 Years of Joys and Sorrows
    1000 Years of Joys and Sorrows
    by Ai Weiwei
    Ai Weiwei is such an influential and innovative artist and activist that a memoir focused purely on ...
  • Book Jacket: Honor
    Honor
    by Thrity Umrigar
    First Impressions readers enjoyed being transported to India via Thrity Umrigar's novel Honor, with ...
  • Book Jacket: What Storm, What Thunder
    What Storm, What Thunder
    by Myriam J. A. Chancy
    What Storm, What Thunder illuminates life in Haiti during and after the massive earthquake on ...
  • Book Jacket: Noor
    Noor
    by Nnedi Okorafor
    Noor's heroine goes by the moniker AO. Though officially this stands for her given name, Anwuli ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
My Broken Language
by Quiara Alegría Hudes
A Pulitzer Prize–winning playwright tells her lyrical coming of age story in a sprawling Puerto Rican family.

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Honor
    by Thrity Umrigar

    Bestselling author Thrity Umrigar tells the moving story of two Indian women and the courage they inspire in each other.

  • Book Jacket

    Free
    by Lea Ypi

    "Nothing short of a masterpiece."
    Publishers Weekly
    (starred review)

Who Said...

I am what the librarians have made me with a little assistance from a professor of Greek and a few poets

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A P O B Y Houses

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.