Announcing our Top 20 Books of 2022 and Award Winners

Anna Quindlen biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Anna Quindlen

Anna Quindlen

How to pronounce Anna Quindlen: kwind-len

Anna Quindlen Biography

Anna Quindlen's novels include Rise and Shine, Blessings, Black and Blue, One True Thing, and Object Lessons, and her nonfiction books include A Short Guide to a Happy Life, Good Dog. Stay., Being Perfect, Loud & Clear, Living Out Loud, Thinking Out Loud, and How Reading Changed My Life. She has also written the children's books The Tree That Came to Stay and Happily Ever After. Her New York Times column "Public and Private" won the Pulitzer Prize in 1992. From 2000-2009, she wrote the "Last Word" column for Newsweek. She lives with her husband and children in New York City.

Anna Quindlen's website

This bio was last updated on 06/27/2017. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

In three separate interviews Anna Quindlen discusses her 2007 novel, Rise and Shine, her inspirational nonfiction book, A Short Guide To A Happy Life and her 2012 memoir, Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake

In three separate interviews Anna Quindlen discusses her 2007 novel, Rise and Shine, her inspirational nonfiction book, A Short Guide To A Happy Life and her 2012 memoir, Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake

Best-selling author Anna Quindlen takes us on a video walk through her New York City town house as she discusses Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake (2012)



A Conversation with Anna Quindlen about Rise and Shine

Scroll past this first interview to read a separate interview with Quindlen about "A Short Guide to a Happy Life".

Q: We love the premise of Rise and Shine - two sisters, New York City, and two very different career trajectories. In dreaming up this novel, what came to you first: the sisters, the setting, or Megan's on-air slip? And how did your storyline evolve from there?

Anna Quindlen: I always begin a novel with a theme.  Black and Blue, for instance, began with the theme of identity, Blessings with the theme of redemption.  Rise and Shine grew out of constant thoughts about the disconnect in modern American life between appearance and reality.  The more I thought about that disconnect...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Anna Quindlen at BookBrowse
Miller's Valley jacket Still Life with Bread Crumbs jacket Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake jacket Every Last One jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Anna Quindlen but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • A Manette Ansay

    A Manette Ansay

    A. Manette Ansay grew up in Wisconsin among 67 cousins and over 200 second cousins.  She is the author of six novels, including Good Things I Wish You, Vinegar Hill, an Oprah Book Club Selection, and Midnight Champagne, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Black and Blue

    Try:
    Vinegar Hill
    by A Manette Ansay

  • Diana Athill

    Diana Athill

    Diana Athill was born in 1917. She helped Andre Deutsch establish the publishing company that bore his name and worked as an editor for Deutsch for four decades. Athill's distinguished career as an editor is the subject of ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake

    Try:
    Somewhere Towards the End
    by Diana Athill

We recommend 25 similar authors

View all 25 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join and Save 20%!

Become a member and
discover exceptional books.

Find out more


Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Voted 2022 Best Fiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers. Geraldine Brooks creates a ...
  • Book Jacket: In Love
    In Love
    by Amy Bloom
    Voted 2022 Best Nonfiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers. In 2019, author Amy Bloom and her...
  • Book Jacket: Remarkably Bright Creatures
    Remarkably Bright Creatures
    by Shelby Van Pelt
    Voted 2022 Best Debut Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers. Shelby Van Pelt's debut novel, ...

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Scatterlings
    by Resoketswe Martha Manenzhe

    The debut novel of a gifted storyteller who has become a sensation in her native South Africa.

Wordplay

The Big Holiday Wordplay

Enter Now

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Cradles of the Reich
by Jennifer Coburn
Three women, a nation seduced by a madman, and the Nazi breeding program to create a so-called master race.
Who Said...

More Anagrams

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.