Audrey Schulman biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Audrey Schulman

Audrey Schulman

How to pronounce Audrey Schulman: SHULL-man

Audrey Schulman Biography

Born a long time ago, in another country, Schulman has traveled enough to have vomited on four continents, including once onto a Masai tribesman's feet. He, unfortunately, was barefoot.

Schulman has published The Cage, Swimming with Jonah, A House Named Brazil and, most recently, Three Weeks in December.

Her books have been translated into 11 languages, reviewed by the New Yorker and twice been selected as notable books by the American Library Association. Her books aren't boring. For a short time, one was even optioned for a movie with Wes Craven (the director of Nightmare on Elm Street). Articles by Schulman have been anthologized, as well as published in Orion, Grist, Ms. Magazine, Bust and others.

She now lives near Boston with her family and runs an energy-efficiency nonprofit called HEET.

Audrey Schulman's website

This bio was last updated on 10/18/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Audrey Schulman recalls some of the stories from her past that inspired Three Weeks in December, which is set in late 19th century East Africa and contemporary Rwanda.

Where did Jeremy's story come from?
Part of where Jeremy came from was a story that my great uncle told me about being forced into the role of the great white hunter when he was young and lived in India.

My great uncle went to India to work on a remote tea plantation around 1930. Harry was a sweet and self-deprecating man, a man intended more for farming than hunting. However, he was living on the tea plantation when a rogue elephant started killing off Indian villagers in the area. The elephant, a huge male, had developed a fondness for rice wine. The villagers would make the wine by digging a large pit and filling it with rice and water to ferment. The elephant would sneak into the village at night, guzzle the wine and then, in a drunken fit, run through the village trampling people to death.

Since Harry was the only one in the area with a shotgun big enough for an elephant, the villagers logically went to him to ask him to kill the elephant. Unfortunately Harry could barely shoot the gun. A small and savvy Indian managed to lead Harry through the jungle into the right position for a good shot of the elephant. He managed to do this not once, but twice. Both times Harry couldn't find the elephant through the jungle foliage...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Audrey Schulman at BookBrowse
Three Weeks in December jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Audrey Schulman but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice


Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Being Mortal by Atul Gawande

An eye-opening and riveting look at how how medicine can not only improve life but also the process of its ending.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Seven Days of Us
    by Francesca Hornak

    A warm, wry debut novel about a family forced to spend a week together over the holidays.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Wisdom of Sundays

The Wisdom of Sundays
by Oprah Winfrey

Life-changing insights from super soul conversations.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A Good M I H T F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.