Jeffery Deaver biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Jeffery Deaver
Jerry Bauer

Jeffery Deaver

Jeffery Deaver Biography

Jeffery Deaver is an American mystery/crime writer. He has a bachelor of journalism degree from the University of Missouri and a law degree from Fordham University and originally started working as a journalist. He later practiced law before embarking on a successful career as a best-selling novelist.

He has been awarded the Steel Dagger and Short Story Dagger from the British Crime Writers' Association and the Nero Wolfe Award, and he is a three-time recipient of the Ellery Queen Reader's Award for Best Short Story of the Year and a winner of the British Thumping Good Read Award.

His novels have appeared on bestseller lists around the world, including The New York Times, The Times, Italy'sCorriere della Sera, The Sydney Morning Herald, andThe Los Angeles Times.

Deaver's most popular series features his regular character Lincoln Rhyme, a quadriplegic detective, and Amelia Sachs. Deaver edited The Best American Mystery Stories 2009.

Three of his novels have been produced into films: A Maiden's Grave made for TV as film Dead Silence, The Bone Collector and The Devil's Teardrop. Deaver was chosen to write an official new James Bond novel: Carte Blanche is set in 2011 and was published on May 25, 2011. He is the second American author to write Bond novels, afterRaymond Benson.

Jeffery Deaver's website

This bio was last updated on 11/20/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Jeffrey Deaver talks about his brilliant fictional detective, Lincoln Rhyme, and his arch-nemesis, the Coffin Dancer.

My first and foremost goal is to keep readers turning the pages. Mickey Spillane said that people don't read books to get to the middle; they read to get to the end. And I've tried to embrace that philosophy in my writing. The Coffin Dancer is typical of the thriller I enjoy writing. In it, my hero--a brilliant forensic detective--matches wits with a brilliant hired killer, each one staying just one step ahead of each other (and sometimes the reader too) as the murderer tries to kill two witnesses scheduled to appear before a jury. As always in my books, not everything is what it seems to be, and there are plenty of twists and turns that I hope will surprise even the most discerning reader. Nothing makes me happier than to have a reader come up to me at a signing and say, "Wow. You got me again."

My hero, Lincoln Rhyme, is an interesting character. He's a quadriplegic. Formerly head of NYPD Forensics, he was injured on the job and now can move only his head, neck and left ring finger. The Coffin Dancer is the second book featuring Rhyme; the first was The Bone Collector. I created him as a character for two reasons. First, I was fascinated with the concept of the human mind as independent of our bodies--that even ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Jeffery Deaver at BookBrowse
The October List jacket The Kill Room jacket XO jacket Edge jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Jeffery Deaver but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • David Baldacci

    David Baldacci

    David published his first novel, Absolute Power, in 1996. A major motion picture adaptation followed, with Clint Eastwood as its director and star. In total, David has published 32 novels for adults; all have been national ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Empty Chair

    Try:
    The Simple Truth
    by David Baldacci

  • Steve Cavanagh

    Steve Cavanagh

    Steve Cavanagh is an Irish author from Belfast and at the age eighteen he studied law by mistake. He is now the international award-winning author of the Eddie Flynn novels. His debut novel, The Defense, was nominated for the... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Vanished Man

    Try:
    The Plea
    by Steve Cavanagh

We recommend 27 similar authors

View all 27 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: New World, Inc.
    New World, Inc.
    by Simon Targett, John Butman
    When we think about the founding of America, we typically envision Pilgrims in black garb and boxy ...
  • Book Jacket: New World, Inc.
    New World, Inc.
    by Simon Targett, John Butman
    When we think about the founding of America, we typically envision Pilgrims in black garb and boxy ...
  • Book Jacket: The Ensemble
    The Ensemble
    by Aja Gabel
    In May 1994, the members of the Van Ness String Quartet are completing their final graduate recital ...
  • Book Jacket: The Electric Woman
    The Electric Woman
    by Tessa Fontaine
    In 2010, author Tessa Fontaine's mother had a near-fatal hemorrhagic stroke, leaving her with a...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Harbor of Spies by Robin Lloyd

A captivating thriller-at-sea set in Spanish colonial Havana in the 1860s.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Sometimes I Lie
    by Alice Feeney

    This brilliant psychological thriller asks: Is something a lie if you believe it's the truth?
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Comedown

The Comedown by Rebekah Frumkin

A blistering dark comedy that explores delineating lines of race, class, religion, and time.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.