Adam Haslett biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Adam Haslett
Photo: Brigitte Lacombe

Adam Haslett

Adam Haslett Biography

Adam Haslett is the author of the short story collection You Are Not a Stranger Here and the novel Union Atlantic. His story collection was a finalist for a Pulitzer Prize and a National Book Award, and his books have been translated into eighteen languages. His journalism and fiction have appeared in The Financial Times, Esquire, New York Magazine, The New Yorker, The Nation, The Atlantic Monthly, Zoetrope All-Story, Best American Short Stories, The O'Henry Prize Stories, and National Public Radio's Selected Shorts. He has received fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the Rockefeller Foundation, and the Fine Arts Work Center, and in 2006, he won the PEN/Malamud Award for accomplishment in short fiction. He has also won the PEN/Winship Award for the best book by a New England author. A graduate of Swarthmore College, the Iowa Writers' Workshop, and Yale Law School, he has been a visiting professor at the Iowa Writers' Workshop and Columbia University.

Haslett, who is half English on his father's side, was born in Port Chester, New York, and grew up in Kingston, Massachusetts for the first nine years of his life before his family moved to Oxfordshire, England. The family moved back to the United States three years later to Wellesley, Massachusetts, where Haslett attended high school. After college at Swarthmore, he worked for George Trescher Associates in New York and for the Lambda Legal Defense and Education Fund. His first period of full-time writing came when he received a seven-month fellowship from the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, Massachusetts. Following that he went to the Iowa Writers' Workshop, where he completed most of what would become his first book. After Iowa, he attended Yale Law School, during which time he worked at a U.S. Attorney's office, a prison legal services clinic, and a New York City law firm. In 2002, he moved back to New York where he has lived and worked since.

That same year You Are Not a Stranger Here was published, and Haslett was featured twice on NBC's Today Show and given the New York Magazine Writer-of-the-Year Award. The book went on to be a New York Times Bestseller and to be nominated for a Pulitzer and a National Book Award.

After finishing law school, Haslett began work on the novel that eventually became Union Atlantic. While fiction has been his chief focus, he has also published essays and reviews, occasionally taught undergraduate and graduate fiction writing, and assisted in the writing of several books on U.S. tax politics and policy with a former professor of his from Yale.

Adam Haslett's website

This bio was last updated on 01/17/2014. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Interview

A conversation with Adam Haslett, author of Union Atlantic, a deeply affecting portrait of the modern gilded age, the first decade of the twenty-first century.

A Conversation with Adam Haslett, Author of Union Atlantic

Q: Union Atlantic has two main story lines. One is about a conflict over a piece of land between two neighbors, Charlotte Graves, a retired history teacher, and Doug Fanning, a young banker; the other is about the financial troubles at the bank where Doug works. How did these two events come together for you as you wrote the novel?
A: The characters are what came first. I created each of them separately before I ever knew how they would inhabit the same novel. The first was Charlotte's brother Henry Graves, the president of the New York Federal Reserve, whose first sections I wrote ten years ago. I'd become fascinated by this idea of the anonymous power that the Fed and other public and private bureaucracies have over our daily lives and I wanted to place a character at the pinnacle of one of those organizations, mostly to discover for myself how that kind of mind would work. That, in turn, gave me the idea of a troubled bank that the Fed would be regulating, and thus a banker, who became Doug Fanning. Charlotte was the other major figure and it was in writing about her as she lived alone with her dogs in the semi-rural town of Finden that I came up with the ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Adam Haslett at BookBrowse
Imagine Me Gone jacket Union Atlantic jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Adam Haslett but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Paul Auster

    Paul Auster

    Paul Benjamin Auster was born on February 3, 1947 in Newark, New Jersey.  His father, Samuel Auster, was a landlord; his mother, Queenie was about 13 years younger than her husband; the marriage was not a happy one. ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Union Atlantic

    Try:
    Sunset Park
    by Paul Auster

  • Stephanie Bishop

    Stephanie Bishop

    Stephanie Bishop was named one of The Sydney Morning Herald's Best Young Australian Novelists for her debut novel, The Singing. She holds a PhD from Cambridge University and is currently a lecturer in Creative Writing at the ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Imagine Me Gone

    Try:
    The Other Side of the World
    by Stephanie Bishop

We recommend 23 similar authors

View all 23 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Yonder
    Yonder
    by Jabari Asim
    The captivating historical novel Yonder turns an intimate lens towards the tragedy and survivorship ...
  • Book Jacket: Churchill's Shadow
    Churchill's Shadow
    by Geoffrey Wheatcroft
    Another book about Winston Churchill? Even with the astronomical number of titles written about the ...
  • Book Jacket: 1000 Years of Joys and Sorrows
    1000 Years of Joys and Sorrows
    by Ai Weiwei
    Ai Weiwei is such an influential and innovative artist and activist that a memoir focused purely on ...
  • Book Jacket: Honor
    Honor
    by Thrity Umrigar
    First Impressions readers enjoyed being transported to India via Thrity Umrigar's novel Honor, with ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
My Broken Language
by Quiara Alegría Hudes
A Pulitzer Prize–winning playwright tells her lyrical coming of age story in a sprawling Puerto Rican family.

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Fields
    by Erin Young

    A dynamite debut—crime fiction at its very finest.

  • Book Jacket

    The Paris Bookseller
    by Kerri Maher

    How a humble bookseller fought incredible odds to bring one of the 20th century's most important books to the world.

Who Said...

We have to abandon the idea that schooling is something restricted to youth...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A P O B Y Houses

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.