Matt Weiland biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Matt Weiland
Photo by James Lester Films

Matt Weiland

Matt Weiland Biography

Matt Weiland is a senior editor at W.W. Norton & Company, the 90-year-old independent and employee-owned general interest publisher in New York.

Weiland has previously worked as an editor at Ecco, Granta Books, The New Press, and Columbia University Press, as well as at three literary magazines—Granta, The Paris Review, and The Baffler. He and Eugenia Bell founded their own imprint, Bell & Weiland Books, to publish Pulitzer Prize-winning historian Mike Wallace's A New Deal for New York in the wake of the 9/11 attacks. He served as project director for American RadioWorks, the documentary radio unit of NPR and Minnesota Public Radio.

Weiland is the co-editor of three bestselling books: State by State: A Panoramic Portrait of America, co-edited with Sean Wilsey; The Thinking Fan's Guide to the World Cup, also co-edited with Sean Wilsey; and Commodify Your Dissent: The Business of Culture in the New Gilded Age, co-edited with Thomas Frank.

Weiland's essays and reviews have appeared in the New York Times Book Review, the Washington Post, New York Magazine, the New York Observer, Slate, The New Republic, and The Nation.

Weiland is a member of the National Book Critics Circle, the Brooklyn Book Festival's literary council, and the Visiting Committee for Literary and Historical Manuscripts of the Morgan Library & Museum. He has taught fiction and nonfiction at the CUNY Writers Institute, the Bennington Writing Seminars, and the NYU Department of Journalism's Program in Literary Reportage. He is also the captain of the U.S. Writers World Cup soccer team, which has yet to play a game.

Originally from Minneapolis, Weiland lives in Brooklyn with his wife and son.

About This Biography
This biography was last updated on 01/11/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Matt Weiland at BookBrowse
State by State jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Matt Weiland but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Bill Bryson

    Bill Bryson

    Bill Bryson was born in Des Moines, Iowa. He moved to England, where he worked for The Times and The Independent, and wrote for many major British and American publications.

    Bill Bryson's bestselling books include A Walk... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    State by State

    Try:
    A Walk In The Woods
    by Bill Bryson

  • William Least Heat-Moon

    William Least Heat-Moon

    Under the name William Least Heat-Moon, William Trogdon is the author of two best-selling classics, Blue Highways and PrairyErth, as well as River Horse, Columbus in the Americas, and Road to Quoz. Trogdon's father ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    State by State

    Try:
    River Horse
    by William Least Heat-Moon

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Circling the Sun
by Paula McLain

An intoxicatingly vivid portrait of colonial Kenya and its privileged inhabitants.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.